How we researched this guide
We compared six camping accessories chosen for Jeep use — a Wrangler-fit tailgate table, a cargo-area hatch tent, a rack awning, a 12V fridge, a portable power station and a solar lantern — against maker and listing documents from EOIS, Napier, Rhino-Rack, Alpicool, Jackery and MPOWERD. Every specification below traces to those documents, and every Amazon ASIN was verified against its listing before a button was written.
For ownership, we reviewed owner and long-term review sources — Jeep owner write-ups, SUV-tent reviews, awning installs and power-station reviews — paraphrased and linked in each review. We do not test camping gear and print no prices. Where a maker publishes no figure, tables print Not published. Two specification conflicts surfaced and are printed attributed, never merged. Browse the parent range in our off-road vehicle parts archive, and set this camp kit alongside the recovery side in our off-road bumpers guide.
The 30-second answer
Start with the EOIS Tailgate Table: it turns the Wrangler tailgate into the camp kitchen and folds back into a MOLLE panel. Groups sleep in the Napier Backroadz SUV Tent, shade comes from the Rhino-Rack Sunseeker 2.0m, cold food from the Alpicool NCF35, power from the Jackery Explorer 500, and light from the Luci Pro Outdoor 2.0. If your Jeep still needs its trail gear sorted first, start with our Wrangler winch guide.
Top Pick: Best Tailgate Table for Jeep Camping
EOIS Tailgate Table
Best if camp cooking happens at the back of the Jeep: a double-layer aluminium table that folds flat into a MOLLE panel, is listed for Wrangler JK and JL, and is rated by its listing to hold up to 100 lb as a work and prep surface.
Best Hatch Tent for Jeep Basecamps
Napier Backroadz SUV Tent 19100
Best if the group outgrows sleeping inside the Jeep: a 10 by 10 ft tent that sleeps five, connects to the cargo area through a universal sleeve, then unclips and stands alone when you drive away for the day.
Best Awning for Jeep Camping
Rhino-Rack Sunseeker 2.0m Awning
Best if shade decides where camp works: about 43 sq ft of UV50+ cover on anodised aluminium poles, rack-mounted, with a Jeep Wrangler-specific bracket line published by Rhino-Rack for fitting it.
Best 12V Fridge for a Wrangler Cargo Area
Alpicool NCF35 Portable Fridge
Best if ice runs are over: a 32-quart compressor fridge that cools to freezer temperatures on 12V, at 28.4 lb and a footprint a Wrangler cargo floor can actually give up.
Best Camp Power Station for Jeep Trips
Jackery Explorer 500
Best if the fridge, lights and phones all need feeding without idling the Jeep: 518Wh, a 500W AC outlet, three USB-A ports and pass-through charging, at 13.3 lb.
Best Camp Light for Jeep Camping
Luci Pro Outdoor 2.0 Solar Lantern
Best if light must weigh almost nothing: 150 lumens, up to 50 hours on low, solar or USB charging, waterproof to IP67, and it can top off a phone from its own battery.
Quick compare: the six Jeep camping picks at a glance
| Product | Camp job | Key maker figure | Weight | Jeep fitment note | Check Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EOIS Tailgate Table | Tailgate kitchen / work surface | Holds up to 100 lb (listing) | 15.17 lb | Wrangler JK/JKU and JL/JLU listed | Check Price |
| Napier Backroadz SUV Tent 19100 | Hatch tent / group sleeping | 10 x 10 ft, sleeps 5 | 28 lb | Universal sleeve for SUVs incl. Wrangler | Check Price |
| Rhino-Rack Sunseeker 2.0m | Rack awning / shade | About 43 sq ft, UV50+ | 22 lb | Rack mount; Wrangler bracket 32121 published | Check Price |
| Alpicool NCF35 | 12V fridge / cold food | 32 qt, down to -4F (listing) | 28.4 lb | Universal 12V; Wrangler cargo footprint | Check Price |
| Jackery Explorer 500 | Camp power station | 518Wh, 500W AC outlet | 13.3 lb | Universal; runs fridge, lights, phones | Check Price |
| Luci Pro Outdoor 2.0 | Solar camp lantern | 150 lumens, up to 50 hours | 5.5 to 6.1 oz by source | Universal; hangs in tent or under awning | Check Price |
Figures repeat only what each maker or listing states for the model named. The Luci weight is printed as a range because its Amazon table and its maker-channel spec disagree — see its review.
Jeep camp setup finder
Tell us how you camp, how many people sleep at the Jeep, and what needs power. Every result points at one of the six accessories in this guide, with its own button.
How to choose Jeep camping accessories
Start with where you sleep
Sleeping decides the rest of the list. Two people can sleep in a Wrangler Unlimited cargo area with the seats folded; groups cannot, which is why the hatch tent exists. A rooftop tent is the other route, but it spends roof load and rack space the awning may also want. Choose the sleep system first, then buy shade, kitchen and power around it. Our Jeep winch guide covers the trail side of the same build.
Jeep-fitment-specific beats universal, where it matters
Some gear only works if it was shaped for the Jeep: a tailgate table must match the Wrangler tailgate, and an awning needs a bracket that fits your rack or roof. Other gear is universal by nature — a fridge, a power station, a lantern — and there the Jeep angle is size and power draw in a small cargo area, not a badge. This guide labels which is which on every pick.
Power needs: count continuous loads, not gadgets
Phones and lights are occasional loads; a compressor fridge is a continuous one, cycling day and night. Size camp power for the fridge first and everything else is easy. The other discipline is protecting the starter battery: run camp loads from a power station, not the Jeep, a point our winch battery guide and battery drain guide make for winches as well.
Weight and cargo space in a Wrangler are finite
A Wrangler cargo area fills faster than any other camp vehicle in its class. Add the picks here together: table, tent, awning, fridge and power station come to roughly 107 lb before food, water and bedding. Gear that folds flat, hangs, or lives on the rack — the tailgate table, the lantern, the awning — earns its place differently from gear that takes floor space.
Shade and weather cover before comfort extras
An awning is the cheapest square footage in camp: it covers the kitchen, the table and the people, in sun and in rain. Buy coverage before comfort extras, and check what the cover is made of — ripstop polycotton with a stated PU rating and UV rating, as on the Sunseeker here, outlasts unlabelled tarp fabric. Wind is the limit: any awning comes down in strong gusts.
Storage: use the surfaces the Jeep already gives you
The tailgate, the seat backs and the cargo walls are storage surfaces before they are anything else. A tailgate table that folds into a MOLLE panel is the pattern to copy: flat, vertical, and out of the floor pile. Keep heavy items low and against the seats, light and bulky items high, and recovery gear reachable without unpacking camp — see essential winching accessories.
Jeep camping fitment notes by model
| Jeep model | Camp fitment notes from this guide | Watch-out | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wrangler JK / JKU (2007-2018) | EOIS tailgate table listed for JK/JKU, screw-on with no drilling per its listing; Napier sleeve is a universal SUV fit | Listing excludes tailgates with a speaker fitted, such as 2-door Rubicon | Notes Pick 1, Pick 2 |
| Wrangler JL / JLU (2018+) | EOIS table listed for JL/JLU with simple drilling required; Sunseeker has a published Wrangler 4dr bracket (32121) | Confirm bracket side and rack before ordering the awning | Notes Pick 1, Pick 3 |
| Gladiator JT | No pick here is a Gladiator-bed-specific fitment; the universal picks (tent sleeve on the cab is not claimed, fridge, power, light) carry over as cargo gear only | Do not assume Wrangler tailgate parts fit the Gladiator tailgate | Notes Picks 2, 4, 5, 6 scope |
| Any Wrangler, roof load | Awning (22 lb) mounts to a rack or brackets; a rooftop tent would compete for the same roof load and rack length | Roof dynamic load limits are the vehicle maker figures in your manual — Not published in this guide | Notes Pick 3 |
The Gladiator gets its own trail treatment in our Gladiator winch guide and budget Gladiator winch guide; this guide keeps its camping claims to the Wrangler fits documented above.
Best Jeep camping accessories by budget
| Tier | What you get | Example pick from this guide |
|---|---|---|
| Under the cost of a tank of trail fuel | Solar light that also tops off a phone | Luci Pro Outdoor 2.0 |
| Entry | Tailgate work surface and MOLLE storage in one panel | EOIS Tailgate Table |
| Mid | Rack shade, or group sleeping space at the hatch | Rhino-Rack Sunseeker 2.0m / Napier Backroadz 19100 |
| Premium | Continuous cold food, or the power station that runs it | Alpicool NCF35 / Jackery Explorer 500 |
| Full basecamp | All six jobs covered: kitchen, sleep, shade, cold, power, light | The full set in this guide |
Money follows mechanism here too. Fabric and a lamp cost least; anything with a compressor, a battery or a vehicle-specific bracket costs more. No tier buys weatherproofing the makers do not claim — it buys capacity, fitment and runtime.
Jeep camping setup types compared
| Setup type | How it camps | Pros | Cons | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| In-Jeep sleeping | Sleep in the cargo area, gear outside | No tent to pitch; locked and insulated by the vehicle | Two people at most in an Unlimited; gear lives outside | Solo and two-person trips |
| Hatch tent | Tent joins the cargo area by a sleeve | Group sleeping plus vehicle access; tent stands alone | Pitch time and a packed tent to store | Families and groups (Napier Backroadz) |
| Rack awning camp | Living space under a mounted awning | Fastest living space to deploy; kitchen stays dry | Needs a rack or brackets; wind limits use | Day camps and kitchens (Sunseeker) |
| Powered basecamp | Fridge and power station run the camp | Real cold food and charged devices for days | Weight, cost and a charging routine to manage | Multi-day trips (NCF35 + Explorer 500) |
Detailed reviews of the best Jeep camping accessories
Each review follows the same order — why it earns its award, maker specs, fit and best use, pros and watch-outs, paraphrased owner reports, who should skip it, and what to pair it with. Every pick carries its own verified button; there are no alternative-button picks in this guide.
Top Pick: EOIS Tailgate Table
Top Pick: Best Tailgate Table for Jeep Camping
Why the EOIS Tailgate Table is our pick
A Jeep camp kitchen needs one flat surface at standing height, and the Wrangler tailgate is the only place it can live without spending cargo room. This table gives you two layers of it, then folds into a MOLLE panel that keeps working as storage on the drive home.
EOIS Tailgate Table key specs
- Type: foldable tailgate table with MOLLE panel back
- Material: aluminium alloy, textured powder coat
- Design: double-layer shelf; folds flat against the tailgate
- Load: supports up to 100 lb (listing figure)
- Fitment: Jeep Wrangler JK, JKU, JL and JLU (listing)
- Exclusion: not for tailgates with a speaker fitted, such as 2-door Rubicon (listing)
- Install: no drilling on JK; simple drilling required on JL (listing)
- Included: table, installation notes, hardware pack
- Item weight: 15.17 lb
- Item model number: JL (listing)
- Warranty: Not published in the listing reviewed
EOIS Tailgate Table: fits and best for
The listing names the Wrangler JK, JKU, JL and JLU. It suits campers who cook at the Jeep, run a small stove or coffee setup on the lower shelf, and want tools and pouches on the MOLLE face between stops. Check your tailgate for a factory speaker before ordering — the listing excludes those tailgates.
EOIS Tailgate Table pros and watch-outs
Pros
- Two work layers from a panel that folds flat
- MOLLE face keeps recovery and kitchen pouches off the floor
- Aluminium build at 15.17 lb is light for its size
- JK fitting needs no drilling per the listing
- A real 100 lb listing rating for a tailgate surface
Watch-outs
- JL fitting requires simple drilling per the listing
- Excluded on speaker-equipped tailgates, such as 2-door Rubicon
- 15.17 lb rides on the tailgate hinges full-time
- Owner coverage for this exact listing is thin (see owners)
EOIS Tailgate Table: what owners report
Owner coverage for this exact EOIS listing is thin in the sources reviewed, so we say so plainly: the verified record is its Amazon listing data, and the two-level, 100 lb pattern is corroborated by same-class Wrangler tables sold for JK and JL Jeeps (two-tier Wrangler tailgate table listing).
A JK owner writing up a tailgate MOLLE table reports using the folded panel for an axe, tool carriers and a fire extinguisher, and rates the rack itself at about 40 lb in his setup — a reminder that panel load and table load are different jobs (AZoffroading JK tailgate table owner write-up).
EOIS Tailgate Table: who should not buy
Skip it if your Wrangler tailgate carries a factory speaker, or if a spare-tyre carrier already uses the tailgate space. A folding camp table from our accessories archive is the dumber, cheaper answer for ground-only camps.
EOIS Tailgate Table: pair it with
Pair it with the Luci Pro lantern below, hung above the table for night cooking, and keep recovery pouches on the MOLLE face from our recovery kit guide.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you. Verified fitment: Jeep Wrangler JK, JKU, JL and JLU per the listing for ASIN B0BRPY3N4W; not for tailgates with a speaker fitted.
Tip: load the table evenly and keep the stove on the lower, wider layer; the listing ceiling is 100 lb total, not per shelf.
Best Hatch Tent: Napier Backroadz SUV Tent 19100
Best Hatch Tent for Jeep Basecamps
Why the Napier Backroadz SUV Tent 19100 is our pick
The Backroadz solves the Wrangler sleeping limit honestly: instead of pretending five people fit in a Jeep, it puts a 10 by 10 ft tent behind it and joins the two with a sleeve, so the cargo area becomes part of the bedroom and the tent still stands alone when the Jeep leaves.
Napier Backroadz SUV Tent 19100 key specs
- Type: SUV hatch tent with universal vehicle sleeve
- Floor: 10 x 10 ft; centre height 7.4 ft (maker table)
- Capacity: sleeps 5 (maker table)
- Tent material: 68D 185T polyester taffeta, 1500mm PU coating
- Floor material: polyethylene
- Frame: fiberglass poles; set-up listed at 10 minutes
- Openings: 1 door, 3 windows, storm flaps fitted
- Rainfly: partial per the maker table; retailer copy says full — see the note below
- Sleeve: universal, removable; tent converts to a ground tent
- Storage: gear loft and lantern holder (maker table)
- Weight: 28 lb (maker table)
- Model: 19100
Napier Backroadz SUV Tent 19100: fits and best for
Napier rates the sleeve as a universal fit for CUVs, SUVs and minivans; in this guide the vehicle is the Wrangler, whose cargo area the sleeve connects for extra sleeping or storage space and access to vehicle power. The Wrangler side-hinged tailgate must swing fully open for the sleeve to seat, so pitch on ground that lets it. Best for groups and families basecamping two nights or more.
Napier Backroadz SUV Tent 19100 pros and watch-outs
Pros
- Real group capacity: 10 x 10 ft and sleeps five
- Sleeve joins tent and cargo area, then removes cleanly
- Stands alone as a ground tent on day trips
- Storm flaps and taped-seam retailer copy for weather privacy
- Packs to 28 lb — light for its floor area
Watch-outs
- Rainfly conflict: maker table says partial, retailer copy says full — plan for the maker figure
- No awning and no screen room on this model (maker table)
- Side-hinged Wrangler tailgate needs full swing room to seat the sleeve
- Five-person rating is a floor-space rating; four adults is the comfortable read
Napier Backroadz SUV Tent 19100: what owners report
Reviewers of the Backroadz rate the universal sleeve and the cargo-area connection as its defining convenience, with the 10-minute pitch and full rainfly copy repeated across retailer descriptions (OutdoorOvernights Backroadz review).
SUV-tent roundups repeat the same family picture: sleep off the ground in the vehicle plus tent floor space, with the sleeve fit deciding whether the join stays bug-tight (Reviews.Guide SUV tent roundup).
Napier Backroadz SUV Tent 19100: who should not buy
Skip it for solo and two-person trips — you will pitch 100 sq ft to sleep two. Sleep in the Jeep and spend the difference on the awning below.
Napier Backroadz SUV Tent 19100: pair it with
Pair it with the Jackery Explorer 500 below: the sleeve gives the tent access to vehicle-side power, and a power station makes that power independent of the starter battery. Tent lighting is the Luci lantern’s job in this guide.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you. Verified model: Napier Backroadz SUV Tent 19100, ASIN B07MBJ6R4V. Rainfly note: Napier’s own comparison table lists a partial rainfly for 19100 while retailer copy for the same model says full rainfly; we print the maker table figure.
Tip: pitch the tent first, then reverse the Jeep into the sleeve; seating a sleeve by driving forward rarely lines up first time.
Best Awning: Rhino-Rack Sunseeker 2.0m Awning
Best Awning for Jeep Camping
Why the Rhino-Rack Sunseeker 2.0m Awning is our pick
Shade is the difference between a Jeep parked at a campsite and a camp. The Sunseeker 2.0m puts about 43 sq ft of rated cover over the tailgate kitchen or the side doors, lives on the rack between trips, and — unusually — has a Wrangler-specific bracket published by its maker.
Rhino-Rack Sunseeker 2.0m Awning key specs
- Type: rack-mounted roll-out awning, 2.0m
- Model: 32132
- Fabric: 210D ripstop polycotton canvas, PU 2000mm water-resistant rating
- UV rating: UV50+
- Poles: lightweight anodised aluminium, rustproof
- Coverage: approximately 43 sq ft
- Packed size: 6 x 86 x 5 in
- Item weight: 22 lb
- Storage: protective PVC bag (family copy)
- Jeep fitment: Wrangler 4dr Sunseeker bracket 32121 published by Rhino-Rack
- Warranty: Not published in the sources reviewed
Rhino-Rack Sunseeker 2.0m Awning: fits and best for
The awning mounts to a roof rack or to vehicle brackets, which are separate from the awning itself. Rhino-Rack publishes a dedicated Sunseeker bracket instruction for the Jeep Wrangler 4-door (part 32121), which is the Jeep-specific evidence for this pick; other Jeeps need a rack fit. Best for campers who cook and sit at the side or rear of the Jeep daily.
Rhino-Rack Sunseeker 2.0m Awning pros and watch-outs
Pros
- Rated fabric: PU 2000mm and UV50+ are stated, not implied
- Anodised aluminium poles keep weight at 22 lb
- Wrangler-specific bracket line exists from the maker
- About 43 sq ft covers a tailgate kitchen properly
- Rolls into its bag on the rack — no cargo space used
Watch-outs
- Brackets and rack are separate purchases, not in the awning box
- 2.0m is the smaller Sunseeker; groups may want the 2.5m sibling
- Any awning is a sail: maker manuals require guying and packing away in wind
- Warranty not published in the sources reviewed
Rhino-Rack Sunseeker 2.0m Awning: what owners report
A Sunseeker owner install on a Frontrunner rack rates the deployment and the reinforced corners, and chose the larger 2.5m for family space — the family-level trade-off this 2.0m pick makes the other way (Trail4Runner Sunseeker install and review).
Awning owner coverage in the wider 4×4 press repeats the same maintenance pattern: dry the canvas before packing or mildew follows, and keep telescoping poles clean of sand (4×4 Australia Sunseeker coverage).
Rhino-Rack Sunseeker 2.0m Awning: who should not buy
Skip it if your Jeep has no rack and no plan to fit brackets — the awning alone cannot mount. A hatch tent with its own poles, above, is the no-rack shelter.
Rhino-Rack Sunseeker 2.0m Awning: pair it with
Pair it with the EOIS tailgate table at the top of this guide: awning over table is the complete Wrangler kitchen. Recovery shade breaks are covered by the same setup on trail days; keep the snatch block guide gear in the Jeep, not under the awning.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you. Verified model: Rhino-Rack Sunseeker 2.0m, part 32132, ASIN B09TX9F6Y5. Mounting brackets are vehicle-specific and sold separately.
Tip: pitch one corner lower than the other in rain so water runs off a corner instead of pooling in the middle of the canvas.
Best 12V Fridge: Alpicool NCF35 Portable Fridge
Best 12V Fridge for a Wrangler Cargo Area
Why the Alpicool NCF35 Portable Fridge is our pick
Ice is a daily tax on a Jeep trip: space, water in the food, and a store run every second day. The NCF35 removes it with a compressor that holds freezer temperatures on 12V, in a 32-quart box sized to the cargo floor a Wrangler can spare.
Alpicool NCF35 Portable Fridge key specs
- Type: portable compressor fridge freezer, single zone
- Model: NCF35
- Capacity: 32 quarts (30.6 litres)
- Temperature range: -4F to 68F (listing)
- Power: 12 volts DC (listing table)
- Noise: 45 decibels (listing table)
- Dimensions: 13.6 x 15 x 27.2 in
- Item weight: 28.4 lb
- Defrost: automatic
- Included: basket
- Annual energy consumption: 174 kWh per year (listing table)
- Warranty: Not published in the listing table reviewed
Alpicool NCF35 Portable Fridge: fits and best for
Universal 12V fitment; the Jeep case is the footprint — 27.2 in long and 28.4 lb — against a Wrangler cargo floor, with the tailgate table above it and camp boxes beside it. It suits two to four people on multi-day trips who are done managing ice, and it needs a power plan: the Jeep 12V system for driving hours, a power station at camp.
Alpicool NCF35 Portable Fridge pros and watch-outs
Pros
- Compressor cooling to freezer temperatures, not a thermoelectric cooler
- 32 qt is the honest two-to-four-person multi-day size
- 45 dB listing figure is camp-quiet class
- Basket included for organising a single-zone box
- Runs on the 12V system every Jeep already has
Watch-outs
- Battery-protection behaviour is not stated for this model in the table reviewed — do not leave it on the starter battery unattended
- Single zone: fridge or freezer, not both at once
- Needs ventilation space around the vents in a packed cargo area
- Warranty not published in the listing table reviewed
Alpicool NCF35 Portable Fridge: what owners report
Fridge roundup coverage of the Alpicool family rates its compressor cooling speed and the -4F to 68F family range as the value end of 12V refrigeration, with external power as the standing requirement (Tweedot car camping fridge roundup).
Owner coverage for this exact NCF35 listing is thinner than for the family’s larger models, so we say so plainly: the verified record here is its Amazon listing table, and no app-control or dual-zone claim from sibling models is transferred to it (Top5Best Alpicool spotlight selection).
Alpicool NCF35 Portable Fridge: who should not buy
Skip it for overnight-only trips — a good cooler and one bag of ice is cheaper and lighter. Skip it too if no power station joins it; a fridge on a starter battery is a jump-start waiting to happen, as our portable winch guide readers know from the winch side.
Alpicool NCF35 Portable Fridge: pair it with
Pair it with the Jackery Explorer 500 below, which is this guide’s camp power answer, and restrain it with rated tie-downs (named without a button; none verified for this guide).
We may earn a commission at no cost to you. Verified model: Alpicool NCF35, ASIN B0DSSV4X41, 32-quart 12V fitment per its listing.
Tip: pre-chill the fridge and the food at home on mains power before loading; a compressor that starts cold cycles far less at camp.
Best Camp Power Station: Jackery Explorer 500
Best Camp Power Station for Jeep Trips
Why the Jackery Explorer 500 is our pick
Every other pick in this guide either needs power or replaces something that did. The Explorer 500 is the size that fits Jeep camping: enough capacity for a fridge overnight and every phone and light in camp, at a weight one person carries in one hand.
Jackery Explorer 500 key specs
- Type: portable power station, lithium-ion
- Capacity: 518Wh (24Ah at 21.6V)
- AC output: 110V, 500W (1000W peak)
- USB: 3 x USB-A ports (5V, 2.4A each)
- DC outputs: 2 x 12V ports and 1 x car port (12V, 10A)
- Charging: pass-through charging supported; Battery Management System fitted
- Recharge times: AC about 7.5 hours; car about 7.5 hours; 100W solar about 9.5 hours
- Weight: 13.3 lb
- Dimensions: 11.8 x 7.6 x 9.2 in
- Operating temperature: 32F to 104F
- In the box: Explorer 500, AC adapter, car charger cable, user manual
- Warranty: 2 years (manufacturer limited)
Jackery Explorer 500: fits and best for
Universal fitment; the Jeep case is what it replaces — idling the engine and draining the starter battery to run camp. It suits fridge owners first, then anyone charging cameras, lights and phones over multi-day trips. The solar panel that pairs with it is optional and sold separately, per the listing.
Jackery Explorer 500 pros and watch-outs
Pros
- 518Wh is the fridge-overnight class without generator weight
- 500W AC plus 12V and USB covers every pick in this guide
- Pass-through charging refills it while it works
- 13.3 lb carries one-handed between Jeep and tent
- Two-year manufacturer warranty is stated
Watch-outs
- 500W ceiling excludes kettles, hair dryers and most power tools
- Solar panel is optional and sold separately
- Recharge from empty is hours, not minutes — plan the routine
- Lithium-ion operating floor is 32F per the spec table
Jackery Explorer 500: what owners report
A long-form Explorer 500 review rates it useful for camping and outages while naming the honest limit: it will not run higher-watt devices, and daily heavy use wants a bigger unit (AIVAnet Explorer 500 review).
Listing-side coverage repeats the portability point owners value: basketball-sized, solid handle, and a port mix that covers phones, lights and small appliances at once (ExpertBeacon Explorer 500 product page).
Jackery Explorer 500: who should not buy
Skip it if your camp has no continuous load — lights and phones alone are served by the Luci lantern below and the Jeep itself. Skip it if a kettle is non-negotiable; that is a bigger power station’s job.
Jackery Explorer 500: pair it with
Pair it with the Alpicool NCF35 above — the pairing this guide’s calculator recommends for fridge camps — and with the Luci lantern, which charges from its USB ports on grey days.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you. Verified model: Jackery Explorer 500, ASIN B07SM5HBK1, 518Wh version. Solar panel optional and sold separately.
Tip: run the fridge from the 12V car port, not the AC outlet; avoiding the inverter keeps more of the 518Wh for the night.
Best Camp Light: Luci Pro Outdoor 2.0 Solar Lantern
Best Camp Light for Jeep Camping
Why the Luci Pro Outdoor 2.0 Solar Lantern is our pick
Camp light should be the easiest decision on the list. The Luci Pro inflates to a 150-lumen lantern, runs up to 50 hours on low, charges itself in the sun on the Jeep dash or roof, and gives some of that charge back to a phone.
Luci Pro Outdoor 2.0 Solar Lantern key specs
- Type: inflatable solar lantern with phone charging
- Output: 150 lumens, 10 LEDs
- Modes: low, medium, high and 1-second flashing
- Battery: built-in 2000mAh lithium-ion, rechargeable
- Runtime: up to 50 hours on low on a single charge
- Recharge: solar in about 14 hours, or USB in 2 to 3 hours
- Phone charging: USB port for two-way mobile charging
- Water resistance: waterproof, IP67 specification met
- Size: 5 x 5 x 4.25 in inflated; collapses to under 2 in
- Weight: 5.5 to 6.1 oz by source — see the note below
- Part number: 1423-002-001-002
- Warranty: 1-year manufacturer warranty
Luci Pro Outdoor 2.0 Solar Lantern: fits and best for
Universal fitment; in a Jeep it hangs inside the Napier tent, under the Sunseeker awning, or over the tailgate table, and charges flat on the dash during trail days. It suits every camp in this guide as the base light, and minimal campers as the only powered item they carry.
Luci Pro Outdoor 2.0 Solar Lantern pros and watch-outs
Pros
- Solar charging means it is ready without a cable routine
- Up to 50 hours on low outlasts a long weekend
- IP67 waterproof rating is stated, not implied
- Phone top-up from the lantern battery is a real backup
- Collapses flat into a door pocket or glovebox
Watch-outs
- 150 lumens lights a tent or table, not a whole campsite
- Solar recharge takes about 14 hours of direct sun
- Weight conflict: 5.5 oz maker-channel spec vs 6.1 oz Amazon table
- Inflatable body needs care around sharp camp hardware
Luci Pro Outdoor 2.0 Solar Lantern: what owners report
Maker-channel reviewers rate the Pro series for exactly the Jeep pattern: charge by USB in 2 to 3 hours or by sun in about 14, then run up to 50 hours on low with a phone top-up in reserve (NRS Luci Pro Series product notes).
Luci family trail reviews praise the adjustable, hang-anywhere light and add the standing caution: do not charge it on a hot dashboard, where heat can damage the plastic (Trailspace Luci family review).
Luci Pro Outdoor 2.0 Solar Lantern: who should not buy
Skip it as your only light if you work on the Jeep at night — recovery and repairs want a brighter work light and the vehicle’s own lighting. As a camp lantern, there is little to skip.
Luci Pro Outdoor 2.0 Solar Lantern: pair it with
Pair it with the Jackery Explorer 500 above for grey-week charging, and hang it over the EOIS tailgate table for the night kitchen. Small camp extras like this are rounded up in our Jeep accessories under a budget guide.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you. Verified model: Luci Pro Outdoor 2.0, part 1423-002-001-002, ASIN B0C5BZ6MZX. Weight note: Amazon’s table lists 6.1 oz and the maker-channel spec lists 5.5 oz; we print the range.
Tip: charge it on the roof or hood at camp, not the dash — the same sun with far less heat behind glass.
Spec comparison: all six Jeep camping picks side by side
| Spec | EOIS Tailgate Table | Napier Backroadz 19100 | Rhino-Rack Sunseeker 2.0m | Alpicool NCF35 | Jackery Explorer 500 | Luci Pro Outdoor 2.0 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Camp job | Tailgate kitchen | Hatch tent sleeping | Rack shade | Cold food | Camp power | Camp light |
| Key figure | Holds up to 100 lb (listing) | 10 x 10 ft, sleeps 5 | About 43 sq ft cover | 32 qt, -4F to 68F | 518Wh, 500W AC | 150 lumens, up to 50 hours |
| Material / build | Aluminium alloy, powder coat | 68D polyester taffeta, PE floor | 210D ripstop polycotton, PU 2000mm | Compressor fridge, single zone | Lithium-ion power station | Inflatable lantern, IP67 |
| Weight | 15.17 lb | 28 lb | 22 lb | 28.4 lb | 13.3 lb | 5.5 to 6.1 oz by source |
| Power | None | None (vehicle access via sleeve) | None | 12V DC | AC, USB-A, 12V outputs | Solar and USB recharge |
| Jeep fitment | Wrangler JK/JL listed | Universal SUV sleeve | Rack mount; Wrangler bracket 32121 | Universal, cargo footprint | Universal | Universal |
| Setup | Folds down from tailgate | 10 minutes (maker table) | Rolls out from rack | Plug in and pre-chill | Plug in | Inflate and switch on |
| Warranty | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | 2 years | 1 year |
| Check Price | Check Price | Check Price | Check Price | Check Price | Check Price | Check Price |
Not published means the maker or listing reviewed does not state the figure — it does not mean the product has no warranty, only that we will not invent one.
Fitment & installation basics for Jeep camping gear
Work in the order the camp is built. The tailgate table comes first: JK fitting is screw-on with no drilling per its listing, JL fitting needs simple drilling, and either way the tailgate must still swing and latch with the panel fitted. The awning is a rack decision before it is an awning decision — confirm the rack or the Wrangler bracket line (32121 for the 4-door) before ordering, and torque bracket hardware to the fitting instruction figure.
The tent, fridge and power station install themselves, but placement is fitment too. Pitch the Napier behind the Jeep with room for the tailgate to swing fully open. Give the fridge ventilation space and a strap, not a bungee, and route its 12V lead where the tailgate cannot pinch it. Keep the power station off the cargo floor’s low point where water collects. The same care applies at the front of the Jeep: our winch use guide, 2025 Wrangler winch guide and budget Wrangler winch guide cover the trail-gear installs this camp kit travels with.
Safety essentials
Six rules for camping from a Jeep
- Never cook with a stove inside the tent or the closed Jeep: carbon monoxide is the quiet killer of vehicle camping, and the tailgate table exists so cooking stays outside.
- Guy and peg every awning, and pack it away in strong wind: a rack awning in a gust loads its brackets and becomes a sail.
- Run camp loads from the power station, not the starter battery, and keep a jump plan regardless.
- Strap the fridge and heavy boxes down: an unsecured 28 lb fridge is a projectile in a trail emergency stop.
- Keep total camp weight honest against the Jeep payload figure in your manual, roof load included.
- Pack out everything, and never leave food unsecured at camp: store it in the closed Jeep or the fridge, not the tent.
Camp does not replace recovery gear. Three verified staples from our pool research, carried alongside this kit:
WARN Epic snatch block — the pulley that doubles a winch line pull and changes its direction on recovery.
Check Price: WARN Epic Snatch Block
GearAmerica tree saver strap — the wide strap that protects both the tree and your winch line at the anchor.
Check Price: GearAmerica Tree Saver
AMBULL D-ring shackles — rated connection points for straps and blocks; never recover on an unrated hook.
Full recovery context lives in our recovery kit guide, shackle guide and tree saver guide.
Troubleshooting common Jeep camping problems
| Symptom | Likely cause | Fix |
|---|---|---|
| Fridge warm by morning at camp | Power station depleted overnight, or the fridge vents were blocked by camp boxes | Pre-chill at home, leave vent space, and size the night load against the 518Wh figure in this guide |
| Tailgate table rattles on the trail | Hardware worked loose, or MOLLE pouches are swinging against the panel | Re-check the hardware pack fixings and strap pouches flat; a rattle found at camp only grows on washboard |
| Awning fabric pools rainwater | Both front poles set at equal height, so the canvas bellies | Drop one corner pole so water runs off a single corner, and re-tension the canvas |
| Tent sleeve lets bugs in at the Jeep | Sleeve not seated evenly around the cargo opening, or the tailgate not fully open | Re-seat the sleeve evenly, swing the tailgate fully, and close gaps before dark, not after |
| Power station will not run a camp appliance | Appliance draw exceeds the 500W AC ceiling | Check the appliance rating plate; high-draw heat appliances belong to a bigger unit, not this one |
| Lantern flat after a cloudy day | Solar charging needs direct sun; a shaded or dash-behind-glass charge under-delivers | Charge on the roof in open sun, or top up by USB from the power station in 2 to 3 hours |
Who should NOT buy these Jeep camping accessories
Rooftop-tent campers. If sleeping moves to the roof, the hatch tent here is the wrong shelter and the awning must share rack length with the tent. Decide the roof plan first; our off-road winch guide readers will recognise the same fitment-first rule.
Gladiator owners expecting Wrangler parts to cross over. The tailgate table in this guide is a Wrangler fitment. Gladiator camp builds start from the bed, not the tailgate, and no pick here claims a Gladiator-specific fit.
Anyone who will not manage a power routine. A fridge plus a power station is a system: pre-chill, charge on driving days, watch the capacity. If that routine will not happen, a cooler is the honest pick and this guide’s powered pair is not.
Speaker-tailgate Wrangler owners, for the table specifically. The listing excludes tailgates with a speaker fitted, such as the 2-door Rubicon. Order a different surface rather than forcing a fit the maker excludes.
High-draw appliance campers. Kettles and hair dryers exceed the Explorer 500’s 500W ceiling. That is a bigger power station’s job; see where to order Jeep accessories for sourcing the wider range.
Final verdict
Top Pick → EOIS Tailgate Table → Check its price
Best Hatch Tent → Napier Backroadz SUV Tent 19100 → Check its price
Best Awning → Rhino-Rack Sunseeker 2.0m Awning → Check its price
Best 12V Fridge → Alpicool NCF35 Portable Fridge → Check its price
Best Camp Power Station → Jackery Explorer 500 → Check its price
Best Camp Light → Luci Pro Outdoor 2.0 Solar Lantern → Check its price
FAQ
What are the best camping accessories for a Jeep Wrangler?
The six jobs that matter are a work surface, sleeping space, shade, cold food, power and light. In this guide those are the EOIS tailgate table, the Napier Backroadz hatch tent, the Rhino-Rack Sunseeker awning, the Alpicool NCF35 fridge, the Jackery Explorer 500 and the Luci Pro lantern, each verified against its maker or listing documents.
Can you sleep in a Jeep Wrangler?
Two people can sleep in a Wrangler Unlimited cargo area with the rear seats folded, which is why solo and two-person campers often skip a tent. Groups cannot, and that is the case for a hatch tent like the Napier Backroadz, which joins its sleeping space to the cargo area through a sleeve and stands alone when the Jeep leaves.
Does a rooftop tent fit a Jeep Wrangler?
Yes, with a suitable rack, but no rooftop tent is a pick in this guide: the sleep pick here is a hatch tent, which keeps weight off the roof and leaves the rack free for the awning. A rooftop tent and an awning compete for the same roof load and rack length, so choose the roof plan before buying either.
How do you power a fridge when Jeep camping?
Run it from the Jeep 12V system while driving and from a portable power station at camp. In this guide the Alpicool NCF35 pairs with the Jackery Explorer 500, whose 518Wh capacity and 12V outputs are sized for overnight fridge running without touching the starter battery. Pre-chilling at home extends the runtime further.
Will camping gear drain my Jeep battery?
It will if camp loads run from the starter battery long enough, which is why this guide routes camp power through a power station. The same discipline applies to winches and lights; our battery guides cover the starter-battery side of the question in depth.
What awning fits a Jeep Wrangler?
A rack-mounted awning fits once the mounting is solved. The Rhino-Rack Sunseeker in this guide has a Wrangler 4-door bracket published by its maker (part 32121), and otherwise mounts to a roof rack. Confirm bracket side and rack type before ordering, because the brackets are separate from the awning itself.
Is a tailgate table worth it for Jeep camping?
For campers who cook at the Jeep, yes: it is the only flat, standing-height surface that costs no cargo room, because it folds flat against the tailgate. The EOIS table here adds a second layer and a MOLLE storage face, and its listing rates it to 100 lb. Speaker-equipped tailgates are the exclusion to check.
How much weight do Jeep camping accessories add?
The six picks here total roughly 107 lb before food, water and bedding: the fridge and tent are the heavy items, the lantern is ounces. Check the total against the payload and roof-load figures in your Jeep manual, keep heavy items low in the cargo area, and strap the fridge down.
What is the difference between a hatch tent and a rooftop tent?
A hatch tent pitches on the ground behind the vehicle and joins it with a sleeve, so it is lighter, cheaper to store and free-standing. A rooftop tent lives on the rack, pitches in minutes and keeps you off the ground, at the cost of roof load, rack space and a ladder. This guide picks the hatch route and an awning for the rack.
Sources
Manufacturer and listing specification sources: two-tier Wrangler tailgate table listing data, Napier tent comparison table (Backroadz 19100), Napier Backroadz review, Rhino-Rack Sunseeker Wrangler bracket fitting instruction, Jackery Explorer 500 specification table, Jackery Explorer 500 listing data and ASIN record, MPOWERD Luci Pro Series specifications. Specification conflicts are printed where they occur: the Napier 19100 rainfly (maker table partial, retailer copy full) and the Luci Pro weight (5.5 oz maker-channel, 6.1 oz Amazon table).
Owner and review sources (paraphrased in the reviews): AZoffroading JK tailgate table owner write-up, Trail4Runner Sunseeker install and review, car camping fridge roundup, Explorer 500 long-form review, Luci family trail review. How links in this guide work is explained in our affiliate disclosure.
By Leo, Founder, WinchInsider
Leo researches Jeep and recovery gear from maker documents and owner reports, and writes the guides he would want before spending his own money. Read more about WinchInsider.
Related guides
- Off-road vehicle parts archive
- Best winch for Jeep Wrangler
- Best Jeep winch
- Best off-road bumpers
- Best winch battery
- Jeep winch archive