Hi-Gear 20-Litre 12V Cooler Review (2026)

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. This comes at no extra cost to you.

How we researched this guide

We compared 6 coolers for this review: the Hi-Gear 20-litre 12V cooler itself, plus 4 verified United States Amazon listings and 1 United Kingdom-only listing. We checked 7 maker or manual documents, including the Alpicool series page, the Alpicool C20 manual, the BougeRV CRPRO manual, the Setpower RF20 manual and manual PDF, the VonShef manual, and the Koolatron P25 manual summary.

We also reviewed 4 independent or owner sources: Camping Secrets, Outdoor Mag, an Alpicool C20 owner review, and an older VonShef review whose figures were not carried over. Where sources disagreed, this guide prints the disagreement.

The 30-second answer

The Hi-Gear 20-litre 12V cooler is a simple, 12V-only thermoelectric box for short trips, but it has no verified Amazon listing in this research, so it carries no buy button here. If you want the closest verified United States equivalent, choose the Koolatron P25. If you need real freezing at a set temperature in about the same size, choose the Alpicool C20, the BougeRV CRPRO 21 Quart, or the Setpower RF20. The VonShef 20L is a United Kingdom-only option and is not presented as a United States purchase.

The subject

Hi-Gear 20L Cooler 12V

Best if you want a simple, light, 12V-only box for drinks and snacks on short trips. No verified Amazon listing was found, so there is no buy button for this model itself.

Verified alternative: the Koolatron P25 is the closest verified United States thermoelectric equivalent.

Check Price

Best compressor value in 20 litres

Alpicool C20

Best if you want the Hi-Gear size with real freezing and a set temperature, plus mains power included. Check the 598 mm length against your boot before buying.

Check Price

Best for overlanding

BougeRV CRPRO 21 Quart

Best if you want a 20-litre compressor fridge with dual fridge and freezer use, battery protection, and tie-down points for a truck or RV.

Check Price

Lowest-draw compressor

Setpower RF20

Best if auxiliary-battery runtime matters most on 2 to 3 day road trips. Its manual rates ECO operation at 28 watts, the lowest compressor figure in this guide.

Check Price

Closest verified alternative

Koolatron P25

Best if you actually want what the Hi-Gear offers: a simple 12V thermoelectric box for drinks and lunch, with a divider and a warm mode, from a verified United States listing.

Check Price

United Kingdom only

VonShef 20L Electric Cool Box

Best for a United Kingdom reader who wants an exact 20-litre thermoelectric box with mains and USB as well as 12V power. It is not a United States purchase.

Verified United States alternative for readers in the United States: the Koolatron P25.

Check Price

Product Cooling Capacity Power supplied Check Price
Hi-Gear 20L Thermoelectric 20 litres 12V only Alternative: Koolatron P25

Check Price

Alpicool C20 Compressor 20 litres (listing) 12/24V DC, mains

Check Price

BougeRV CRPRO 21 Qt Compressor 20 litres 12/24V DC, mains

Check Price

Setpower RF20 Compressor 20 litres 12/24V DC, mains

Check Price

Koolatron P25 Thermoelectric 24 litres 12V, mains separate

Check Price

VonShef 20L Thermoelectric 20 litres 12V, mains, USB (UK) UK only: alternative Koolatron P25

Check Price

Find your 20-litre cooler

Choose what matters most. Every result recommends a cooler from this guide, with its own buy button. The Hi-Gear itself has no verified button, so a result that points at the Hi-Gear idea recommends the Koolatron P25 as the closest verified alternative.

How to choose a 12V cooler in the 20-litre class

Cooling technology first

Thermoelectric boxes cool a fixed amount below the surrounding air and cannot freeze or hold a set temperature. Compressor boxes hold a set temperature down to freezing whatever the weather does. If you need ice cream, raw meat, or dairy kept safe on a hot day, only a compressor qualifies.

Capacity in real items, not just litres

Twenty litres suits a night or two away for one or two people, according to the independent review of the Hi-Gear. Count what you will actually carry: cans, bottles, and food boxes. The bottle test matters: the Hi-Gear review praises a lid hole for a standing 2-litre bottle, and the Koolatron listing says 2-litre bottles fit upright.

Power source actually supplied

Twelve volts only is a real limit. The Hi-Gear, as reviewed, runs on a cigarette-lighter socket, and mains use needs a separate adaptor. The Alpicool, BougeRV, and Setpower compressors include a mains adapter, while the Koolatron mains adapter is sold separately. Check what is in the box, not just what the box can accept.

Battery protection and engine-off use

Compressor models here state multi-level cut-offs that switch the box off before the starter battery drops too far. The thermoelectric models in this guide state no cut-off, so do not run them long with the engine off on a starter battery. Use the high protection setting on a starter battery and a leisure or auxiliary battery for longer stops.

Physical fit before buying

Measure length first. These are long, low chests: Alpicool 598 mm, BougeRV 23 inches, Setpower 24.3 inches. Check boot length, lid swing, and ventilation clearance. Loaded weight matters more than empty weight at a picnic table.

Temperature honesty

Judge a thermoelectric box by degrees below ambient, not by a dial number. The Hi-Gear reviewer outcome was around 10 degrees C, an observed result, not a maker setting. Judge a compressor by its rated range, and read the footnote: the Setpower range applies under specific conditions.

20-litre coolers by need

Need What you get Example pick
Simple drinks box Thermoelectric cooling, 12V only, easy to wipe Koolatron P25 (Hi-Gear idea, verified)
Real freezing Compressor, set temperature, mains included Alpicool C20
Longest battery runtime Compressor, lowest ECO draw in this guide Setpower RF20
Overlanding Compressor, fridge and freezer modes, tie-downs BougeRV CRPRO 21 Quart
United Kingdom exact 20 litres Thermoelectric, mains plus USB as well as 12V VonShef 20L (UK only)

Thermoelectric vs compressor: which type fits you

Type Pros Cons Best for
Thermoelectric Simple, light, quiet fan, warms as well as cools on some models Cools only below ambient, cannot freeze, no set temperature Drinks and lunch on drives and picnics
Compressor Holds a set temperature, freezes, works in hot weather Heavier, longer, higher draw, needs ventilation Food safety, camping, RV and overlanding

Detailed reviews: six 20-litre-class coolers

Each review below uses only its own sources. Figures marked as reviewer outcomes are not maker ratings, and figures marked as not published were not found in the research, not guessed.

The subject: Hi-Gear 20L Cooler 12V

The subject: simple 12V thermoelectric box

Why the Hi-Gear 20L Cooler 12V is our pick

The Hi-Gear is the subject of this review, not a verified buy button, and that distinction matters. As described in the independent review, it is a compact, heavy-duty plastic box with a 12V-only supply, an unpartitioned interior, and a lid hole that takes a standing 2-litre bottle.

Hi-Gear 20L Cooler 12V key specs

  • Capacity: 20 litres, unpartitioned interior (independent review)
  • Power: 12V only as supplied; cigarette-lighter cable included (independent review)
  • Mains use: needs a separate adaptor (reviewer note, not a maker statement)
  • Cooling outcome: reviewer describes cooling to around the 10 degrees C mark; described as chilling reasonably but not ice cold
  • Cooling type: thermoelectric, 12V-only system (independent review)
  • Build: compact heavy-duty plastic build; integrated handle that can also help hold the lid open
  • Controls: power control dial (independent review)
  • Bottle fit: 2-litre bottle standing up, via a hole in the underside of the lid (independent review)
  • Interior: easy-clean unpartitioned interior (independent review)
  • Not published: dimensions, weight, wattage, cooling differential, noise, warranty (no maker sheet found)
  • Verified Amazon ASIN: none found; do not substitute the larger 45-litre Hi-Gear model

Hi-Gear 20L Cooler 12V: fits and best for

The Hi-Gear fits short trips and a night or two away, with drinks and snacks for one or two people, according to the independent review. It suits a car boot, a picnic, or a short stay near a car socket. It does not fit frozen food, dairy at a set temperature in heat, or mains use without a separate adaptor.

Hi-Gear 20L Cooler 12V pros and watch-outs

  • Simple, light, 12V-only operation with no complicated settings
  • Unpartitioned interior is easy to wipe clean after a trip
  • Standing 2-litre bottle fit is genuinely useful for drinks
  • Compact shape suits a small car boot better than a long compressor chest
  • Handle doubles as a lid prop when the box is open
  • No verified Amazon listing found, so no buy button can be offered for this model
  • Cannot freeze, and cannot hold a set temperature in hot weather
  • Mains power needs a separate adaptor, which is an extra purchase and step
  • No maker dimensions, weight, wattage, or warranty figure was found to check fit or cover

Hi-Gear 20L Cooler 12V: what owners report

Coverage for this model is thin, and this guide says so plainly. Camping Secrets describes it as a budget-friendly 12V box that chills reasonably but not ice cold, and Outdoor Mag lists it as a best-budget pick. GO Outdoors presents Hi-Gear only as a GO Outdoors outdoor-lifestyle brand, which is brand identity, not a spec sheet for this cooler. Every detail above is attributed to the independent review, not to the maker.

Hi-Gear 20L Cooler 12V: who should not buy

Do not buy the Hi-Gear idea if you need freezing, a set temperature, or long engine-off use. If that is your trip, buy the Alpicool C20 instead.

Hi-Gear 20L Cooler 12V: pair it with

Pair the Hi-Gear idea with pre-chilled drinks, engine-on running only, and a separate insulated bag for cold items after the engine stops. For longer stops, see our guides to winch batteries and whether winches drain a battery.

No verified buy button exists for the Hi-Gear 20L itself. Verified alternative, with its own buy button directly under this product: the Koolatron P25, the closest verified United States thermoelectric equivalent.

Check Price

We may earn a commission at no cost to you.

Check the size before buying on the Hi-Gear name: this is the 20-litre model, and a larger 45-litre Hi-Gear cooler is a different product.

Best compressor in 20 litres: Alpicool C20

Best compressor in 20 litres

Why the Alpicool C20 is our pick

The Alpicool C20 is the pick for a buyer who likes the Hi-Gear size but needs a real fridge freezer. It is a compressor model rated from minus 20 degrees C to plus 20 degrees C, so it holds the temperature you set instead of drifting with the weather. Both supplies are included, removing the Hi-Gear adaptor problem.

Alpicool C20 key specs

  • Capacity: 21 quarts / 20 litres on the listing; maker series page gives 19.8 litres (conflict printed, listing figure used in the headline)
  • Cooling type: compressor, rated minus 20 degrees C to plus 20 degrees C (maker series page)
  • Power: 12/24V DC and 100 to 240V AC (maker series page)
  • Rated power: maker page 60 watts; Amazon listing table 45 watts (conflict printed, maker figure preferred)
  • Rated current: DC 5.0A / 2.5A (maker series page)
  • Dimensions: 598 x 320 x 320 mm; net weight 9.2 kg (maker series page)
  • Noise: rated below 45 dB (maker series page)
  • Battery protection: 3-level cut-off; 12V cut-offs 11.1V high, 10.1V medium, 9.6V low (manual)
  • Capacity illustration: about 30 x 12 oz cans, 15 x 18 oz water bottles, or 9 x 25 oz wine bottles (manual)
  • Supplies: 12V cigarette-lighter adapter and 120V power supply included (owner review)

Alpicool C20: fits and best for

The C20 fits camping, RV, truck, and boat use where food must stay at fridge or freezer temperatures regardless of ambient heat. Its long, low chest shape suits a flat boot or footwell, but the 598 mm length must be measured first. It is not a tall upright box. Do not run it long on a small starter battery without setting battery protection first.

Alpicool C20 pros and watch-outs

  • Real freezing and a set temperature, unlike any thermoelectric box here
  • Mains and 12-volt supplies both included, so campsite and car use are both covered
  • Three-level battery protection with published cut-off voltages
  • Rated below 45 dB, so cabin and tent sleeping are less disturbed
  • Can illustration from the manual helps judge a real shopping load
  • Listing and maker figures disagree on capacity (20 litres vs 19.8 litres) and power (45 vs 60 watts)
  • Long 598 mm chest needs a measured boot space, not a guess
  • Owner review warns a small starter battery can be depleted quickly without care
  • Heavier and more complex than a simple thermoelectric drinks box

Alpicool C20: what owners report

An Alpicool C20 owner review notes both supplies, ECO mode, and a voltage monitor, and warns about starter-battery drain. The maker series page gives the 19.8-litre and 60-watt maker figures used here, while the listing gives the differing figures, both printed above.

Alpicool C20: who should not buy

Do not buy the C20 if you only need cold drinks on a day drive and want the lightest, simplest box. If simple drinks are the job, the Koolatron P25 below is the closer match.

Alpicool C20: pair it with

Set battery protection to high on a starter battery, and use a leisure battery for longer stops. For power planning, see our guides to winch batteries and how many amps a 12V winch draws.

Check Price

We may earn a commission at no cost to you.

Measure 598 mm in your actual boot before ordering, and leave ventilation clearance, as the manual requires.

Best for overlanding: BougeRV CRPRO 21 Quart

Best for overlanding

Why the BougeRV CRPRO 21 Quart is our pick

The BougeRV CRPRO 21 Quart is the overlanding pick in this guide: a 20-litre compressor fridge with dual fridge and freezer use, published battery protection, and tie-down points for a truck or RV. It can freeze, unlike the Hi-Gear, and its manual publishes the cut-off voltages.

BougeRV CRPRO 21 Quart key specs

  • Capacity: 21 quarts / 20 litres (listing)
  • Cooling type: compressor, inverter compressor (listing)
  • Temperature range: rated minus 8 degrees F to plus 50 degrees F; fridge mode 32 to 50 degrees F, freezer mode minus 8 to 32 degrees F recommended (manual)
  • Power: 12V DC with 12V/24V DC cord and 100 to 240V AC adapter included (listing)
  • Power draw: MAX mode 45 watts, ECO mode 36 watts (manual; a secondary summary differs and is not used)
  • Dimensions: 23 x 12.6 x 12 inches; weight 24.7 pounds (listing)
  • Noise: 45 decibels (listing)
  • Battery protection: 3-level H/M/L monitor; 12V cut-outs H 11.3V, M 10.1V, L 9.6V; factory default H mode (manual)
  • Extras: interior LED light; tie-down holes for fastening (manual summary)
  • Support: 2-year tech support stated on the listing and manual summary

BougeRV CRPRO 21 Quart: fits and best for

The CRPRO fits overlanding, truck, and RV use where the box must ride secured and run on a leisure or auxiliary battery, or with the engine running. Its 23-inch length needs flat space, and its tie-down points should be used. It is not a small day-trip drinks box.

BougeRV CRPRO 21 Quart pros and watch-outs

  • Dual fridge and freezer use in a single 20-litre box
  • Published battery cut-offs with a safe factory default of high protection
  • Mains adapter included, so campsite use needs no extra purchase
  • Tie-down points and an interior light suit real truck and RV use
  • ECO mode at 36 watts helps stretch auxiliary-battery runtime
  • Long 23-inch chest needs measured, flat space
  • Heaviest class of box in this guide once loaded with food and drink
  • Needs ventilation clearance, so it cannot be wedged tight into a packed boot
  • Overkill in weight and complexity for a simple picnic drinks job

BougeRV CRPRO 21 Quart: what owners report

The CRPRO manual documents the draw figures, cut-out voltages, and tie-down points used here. The listing adds the 45-decibel noise figure and 2-year tech support. These are maker figures, quoted as rated to.

BougeRV CRPRO 21 Quart: who should not buy

Do not buy the CRPRO if you want the lightest box for a day trip, or if your boot cannot take a 23-inch chest. For a simple drinks job, the Koolatron P25 is lighter and simpler.

BougeRV CRPRO 21 Quart: pair it with

Use tie-down straps through its fastening points, and set battery protection to high on a starter battery. For engine-off planning, see our guide to whether winches drain a battery.

Check Price

We may earn a commission at no cost to you.

Use high battery protection on a starter battery, and reserve the low setting for a dedicated leisure battery only.

Lowest-draw compressor: Setpower RF20

Lowest-draw compressor

Why the Setpower RF20 is our pick

The Setpower RF20 is the lowest-draw compressor in this guide, and that single fact is its reason to exist. Its manual rates ECO at 28 watts and MAX at 40 watts, which matters on an auxiliary battery for two or three days. Unlike the Hi-Gear, it holds a set temperature down to freezing.

Setpower RF20 key specs

  • Capacity: 21.1 quarts / 20 litres (manual)
  • Cooling type: compressor, maker-developed compressor (manual)
  • Temperature range: rated minus 4 degrees F to plus 68 degrees F (manual; footnote: under specific conditions the fridge can reach minus 4 degrees F)
  • Power: 12V/24V DC and 100 to 240V AC (manual)
  • Power draw: ECO 28 watts, MAX 40 watts (manual)
  • Dimensions: 24.3 x 13.1 x 11.9 inches (617 x 332 x 301 mm); net weight 22.1 lb (10.0 kg) (manual)
  • Shell: PP (manual)
  • Battery protection: 3-level protection stated for the family; exact RF20 cut-off voltages were not verified and are not quoted here
  • Cooling backup: up to 50 hours with the built-in ice pack (maker claim about retained cooling, not powered runtime)
  • Support: compressor 3 years of technical support; other components 1 year maintenance coverage (manual summary)

Setpower RF20: fits and best for

The RF20 fits low-draw compressor use on 2 to 3 day road trips in an SUV, truck, or RV, where the 28-watt ECO figure stretches auxiliary-battery runtime. At 24.3 inches it is the longest verified 20-litre compressor here, so boot length and ventilation must be checked first. Keep the lid slightly open in long storage, per the manual.

Setpower RF20 pros and watch-outs

  • Lowest ECO draw in this guide at 28 watts, a real runtime advantage
  • Real freezing at a set temperature, unlike thermoelectric boxes
  • Mains and 12-volt supplies covered in one manual
  • Three-year compressor technical support is the longest compressor support figure here
  • Ice-pack retained-cooling claim is useful for short unpowered stops
  • Longest compressor in this guide at 24.3 inches, so fit must be measured
  • Exact RF20 battery cut-off voltages were not verified, so they are not printed
  • Rated low temperature carries a specific-conditions footnote, not an unconditional promise
  • The 50-hour figure is retained cooling with an ice pack, not 50 hours of powered running

Setpower RF20: what owners report

The RF20 manual and the RF20/RF25 manual PDF agree on the capacity, range, draw, and dimensions used here. The manual summary gives the support periods and ice-pack figure, worded here as retained cooling, not powered operation. Unverified RF20 cut-off voltages are left out, not borrowed from a related model.

Setpower RF20: who should not buy

Do not buy the RF20 if your boot cannot take a 24.3-inch chest, or if you need published cut-off voltages before you buy. In that case, the BougeRV CRPRO 21 Quart above publishes its cut-offs in full.

Setpower RF20: pair it with

Use a measured boot space, clear ventilation, and an auxiliary battery for multi-day stops. For power planning, see our guides to winch batteries and whether winches drain a battery.

Check Price

We may earn a commission at no cost to you.

Do not read the 50-hour ice-pack figure as powered runtime; it is retained cooling after the power stops.

Closest verified alternative: Koolatron P25

Closest verified alternative

Why the Koolatron P25 is our pick

The Koolatron P25 is the closest verified United States alternative to the Hi-Gear, and for many buyers it is the better buy. It is a thermoelectric cooler and warmer from a verified United States listing, with a removable divider and a warm mode. It also fits 2-litre bottles upright, the same point the Hi-Gear review praises.

Koolatron P25 key specs

  • Capacity: 26 quarts (24 litres); 31-can capacity (listing)
  • Cooling type: thermoelectric, brushless fan motor (listing)
  • Cooling performance: listing states 36 degrees F (18 degrees C) below surroundings; manual summary states 40 degrees F (22 degrees C) below ambient (conflict printed, neither figure settled alone)
  • Warming: warms to 140 degrees F (60 degrees C) (manual summary; flip the cord to switch modes, per the listing)
  • Power: 12V DC cord included, 6 ft; AC adapter sold separately (listing)
  • Features: removable divider; locking moulded carry handle; cord-storage compartment; seam-free easy-clean interior (listing)
  • Bottle fit: tall enough to fit 2L pop bottles upright (listing)
  • Battery protection: no cut-off stated for this model in the sources found; do not claim one
  • Warranty: 1-year manufacturer warranty (listing)
  • Pre-cooling guidance: pre-cool or pre-warm 1 to 2 hours before loading (manual guidance for the family)

Koolatron P25: fits and best for

The P25 fits a buyer who actually wants what the Hi-Gear offers: a simple, light, 12V box for drinks and lunch on drives, picnics, and camping. Its 24 litres give a little more room than the Hi-Gear, and the divider separates food and drinks. It does not fit a buyer who needs freezing or a set temperature.

Koolatron P25 pros and watch-outs

  • Verified United States listing, unlike the Hi-Gear itself
  • Divider keeps items separate, where the Hi-Gear interior is unpartitioned
  • Warm mode as well as cool mode, switched by flipping the cord
  • 2-litre bottle fit upright, matching the Hi-Gear practical point
  • Locking handle and cord storage suit car and picnic use
  • Cools only below ambient, so a hot day limits how cold drinks get
  • Mains adapter is sold separately, like the Hi-Gear adaptor problem
  • No battery cut-off stated, so long engine-off use risks a flat starter battery
  • Listing and manual summary disagree on the cooling differential

Koolatron P25: what owners report

The P25 manual summary gives the capacity, cooling, warming, and feature figures used here, while the manual summary also gives the differing 40-degree figure that this guide prints alongside the listing figure. The older Australian listing corroborates the 1-year warranty but is not the buy link here. Pre-cooling guidance is family manual guidance, not a result.

Koolatron P25: who should not buy

Do not buy the P25 if you need ice cream, raw meat, or dairy held at a set temperature on a hot day. Thermoelectric cooling cannot do that job. If freezing matters, buy the Alpicool C20, the BougeRV CRPRO, or the Setpower RF20 instead.

Koolatron P25: pair it with

Use pre-chilled contents and engine-on running only. For engine-off risks, see our guide to whether winches drain a battery.

Check Price

We may earn a commission at no cost to you.

Pre-cool box and contents before a trip; a thermoelectric box chills slowly from warm.

United Kingdom only: VonShef 20L Electric Cool Box

United Kingdom only

Why the VonShef 20L Electric Cool Box is our pick

The VonShef 20L is the exact-size thermoelectric match to the Hi-Gear, with one decisive limit: its verified listing is United Kingdom only. For a United Kingdom reader it is the closest like-for-like alternative, adding mains and USB to 12V power and a divider. For a United States reader it is context, not a purchase.

VonShef 20L Electric Cool Box key specs

  • Capacity: 20 litres (United Kingdom listing)
  • Power options: 1.75 m 12V car cable, 1.95 m 3-pin plug, 1.75 m USB cable (listing)
  • Heating and cooling: hot and cold functions; removable divider (listing)
  • Handle: 3-in-1 carry handle, lid lock, and lid holder (listing)
  • Cooling power: 45 watts; 12V cooling 55 watts (manual for model 1000237.1)
  • Heating power: 40 watts; 12V heating 47 watts (manual for model 1000237.1)
  • Rated voltage: house 220 to 240V, car 12V (manual for model 1000237.1)
  • Marketplace: amazon.co.uk only; no amazon.com listing found (research finding)
  • Not carried over: 2-year warranty and 3.1 kg with 40 x 24.1 x 40.5 cm figures belong to an older 22-litre variant, not to model 1000237.1
  • Not published for model 1000237.1: warranty figure confirmed in the listing text found

VonShef 20L Electric Cool Box: fits and best for

The VonShef fits a United Kingdom reader who wants an exact 20-litre thermoelectric box with mains and USB as well as 12V, and a divider for separating food and drinks. Its 220 to 240V mains lead alone disqualifies it as a United States recommendation; United States readers should buy the Koolatron P25, not import this model.

VonShef 20L Electric Cool Box pros and watch-outs

  • Exact 20-litre thermoelectric match to the Hi-Gear size
  • Three power options: 12V, mains, and USB, the widest in this guide
  • Divider and lid lock suit family picnic and car use
  • Hot and cold functions cover winter drinks as well as summer drinks
  • Manual power figures are model-specific, not borrowed from an older variant
  • United Kingdom listing only, so not a United States purchase
  • Thermoelectric limits apply: cools relative to ambient, no freezing
  • Older-variant figures in independent reviews must not be transferred to this model
  • No warranty figure for this model was confirmed in the listing text found

VonShef 20L Electric Cool Box: what owners report

Coverage here is deliberately split. The VonShef 1000237.1 manual gives the model-specific power and voltage figures used above. An older VonShef review covers an older 22-litre variant, and its weight, dimensions, and warranty figures are explicitly not carried over.

VonShef 20L Electric Cool Box: who should not buy

Do not buy the VonShef from the United Kingdom for United States use: its marketplace, mains voltage, and support route are all United Kingdom. United States buyers should choose the Koolatron P25 instead.

VonShef 20L Electric Cool Box: pair it with

For United Kingdom readers, use the same habits as any thermoelectric box: pre-chill contents, run while driving, and do not expect freezing. United States readers should follow the Koolatron P25 guidance above.

United Kingdom-only listing: this product is not buttoned with the United States affiliate tag. Verified United States alternative, with its own buy button directly under this product: the Koolatron P25.

Check Price

We may earn a commission at no cost to you.

If a review quotes 3.1 kg or a 2-year warranty, check the model number first; those figures belong to an older variant.

Spec comparison: all six coolers side by side

Product Capacity Cooling type Temperature / cooling Power
Hi-Gear 20L 20 L Thermoelectric Reviewer outcome around 10 C 12V only
Alpicool C20 20 L (listing) Compressor Minus 20 to plus 20 C 12/24V, mains
BougeRV CRPRO 20 L Compressor Minus 8 to plus 50 F 12/24V, mains
Setpower RF20 20 L Compressor Minus 4 to plus 68 F 12/24V, mains
Koolatron P25 24 L Thermoelectric 18 C below (listing) 12V, mains separate
VonShef 20L 20 L Thermoelectric Hot and cold (UK) 12V, mains, USB
Product Size / weight Battery protection Warranty / support Check Price
Hi-Gear 20L Not published None stated Not published Alternative:

Check Price

Alpicool C20 598 mm, 9.2 kg 3-level, 11.1/10.1/9.6V Not stated here

Check Price

BougeRV CRPRO 23 in, 24.7 lb 3-level, 11.3/10.1/9.6V 2-year tech support

Check Price

Setpower RF20 24.3 in, 22.1 lb Family 3-level, RF20 volts unverified 3-year compressor support

Check Price

Koolatron P25 26 qt, 31 cans None stated 1 year

Check Price

VonShef 20L Not carried over Not stated here Not confirmed UK only: alternative

Check Price

No scores are given: no scoring rubric was verified, so inventing scores would mislead. Use the rated ranges, power figures, and fit checks above.

Fitment and power basics

Fit comes before features. Measure the boot or truck-bed space against the longest figures here: Setpower 24.3 inches, BougeRV 23 inches, Alpicool 598 mm. Leave ventilation clearance around a compressor chest.

Power comes second. The Hi-Gear offers only a 12V socket as reviewed, so plan engine-on running for thermoelectric boxes. Compressors with mains adapters still need a battery plan for engine-off stops. Read our guides to winch batteries, whether a winch drains a battery, and how many amps a 12V winch draws and set battery protection to high on a starter battery.

Also check the lid: a chest opening against a seat back will not open fully, and a half-open lid leaks cold air. Route the 12V cord clear of seat rails and pedals, with a little slack so rough roads do not pull the plug out. Check this before loading, on every trip, with the boot already packed.

Safety essentials

Do not run a thermoelectric box long with the engine off on a starter battery, because no cut-off is stated for those models. Use high battery protection on a starter battery, and a leisure battery for longer stops. Keep compressor vents clear, and never block airflow with bags or blankets. Keep raw meat and dairy only in a compressor box on a hot day, never in a thermoelectric box. Secure the box with tie-downs or a seat belt so it cannot slide in a sudden stop. Keep the 12V cord away from pedals, seat rails, and hot exhaust parts, and check it for damage before each trip.

Companion guides, not accessory buttons: our guides to winch batteries, engine-off battery drain, and 12V amp draw cover cooler-trip power planning. No cooler accessory with a verified ASIN appears here, so none is buttoned.

Troubleshooting

Symptom Likely cause Fix
Box barely cools Thermoelectric limit in heat Pre-chill contents; run while driving; switch to a compressor for food safety
Compressor will not start Battery protection cut-off tripped Start the engine or charge the battery; check the protection setting
Box stops on a hot day Blocked vents or no airflow Clear vents; move bags away from the chest; check lid seal
Drinks warm after stopping Engine off, no power Restart the engine or move food to a compressor on auxiliary power
Lid will not close Bottle too tall or box overfilled Use the lid bottle hole or divider; remove one tall item
Smell after storage Box stored closed and damp Wipe dry; store with the lid slightly open, per manual guidance

Who should NOT buy these coolers

Do not buy a thermoelectric box if you need freezing. The Hi-Gear, Koolatron, and VonShef cool below ambient only, and on a hot day that is not cold enough for ice cream or raw meat. Buy a compressor instead: the Alpicool C20, the BougeRV CRPRO, or the Setpower RF20.

Do not buy the Hi-Gear name expecting a buy button. No verified Amazon listing was found for the 20-litre model, and a larger 45-litre Hi-Gear model is a different product. If a verified United States purchase matters, buy the Koolatron P25 as the closest equivalent.

Do not buy the VonShef from the United Kingdom for United States use. Its mains voltage, marketplace, and support route are United Kingdom. United States buyers should buy the Koolatron P25 instead, and United Kingdom readers should check the model number before trusting older-variant figures.

Do not buy any cooler for long engine-off use on a starter battery alone. Thermoelectric boxes state no cut-off, and compressors need a realistic battery plan. See our guides to winch batteries and engine-off drain before a multi-day stop.

Final verdict

The subject: Hi-Gear 20L Cooler 12V, a simple 12V thermoelectric box with no verified buy button; verified alternative is the Koolatron P25 below.

Check Price

Best compressor in 20 litres: Alpicool C20.

Check Price

Best for overlanding: BougeRV CRPRO 21 Quart.

Check Price

Lowest-draw compressor: Setpower RF20.

Check Price

Closest verified alternative: Koolatron P25.

Check Price

United Kingdom only: VonShef 20L Electric Cool Box, not a United States purchase; verified United States alternative is the Koolatron P25 below.

Check Price

FAQ

Is the Hi-Gear 20-litre 12V cooler available on Amazon?

No verified Amazon listing for the 20-litre model was found in this research, so this guide carries no buy button for it. A larger 45-litre Hi-Gear cooler is a different product and is not substituted here. The closest verified United States alternative is the Koolatron P25.

Can a thermoelectric cooler freeze food?

No. A thermoelectric box cools a fixed amount below the surrounding air and cannot hold a set temperature or freeze. If you need freezing, buy a compressor model such as the Alpicool C20, BougeRV CRPRO, or Setpower RF20. On a hot day, a thermoelectric box cannot rescue warm drinks.

What size cooler do I need for one or two people?

About 20 litres suits a night or two away for one or two people, according to the independent review of the Hi-Gear. Count real items: the Alpicool manual illustrates about 30 cans, and both the Hi-Gear and the Koolatron fit a standing 2-litre bottle.

Can I run a 12V cooler with the engine off?

Only with a battery plan. Compressors here have multi-level protection, and the high setting should be used on a starter battery. Thermoelectric models here state no cut-off, so do not run them long with the engine off on a starter battery.

Does the Hi-Gear cooler work on mains power?

Not as supplied, according to the independent review. It is 12V only, and mains use needs a separate adaptor. The Alpicool, BougeRV, and Setpower compressors include a mains adapter, while the Koolatron mains adapter is sold separately. A separate adaptor is an extra purchase, not an included accessory.

Why do the Alpicool figures disagree between sources?

The listing gives 21 quarts or 20 litres and 45 watts, while the maker series page gives 19.8 litres and 60 watts. This guide prints both figures and prefers the maker page. Both numbers are real source figures, so neither is a typo.

Why do the Koolatron cooling figures disagree?

The listing states 36 degrees F, or 18 degrees C, below surroundings, while the manual summary states 40 degrees F, or 22 degrees C, below ambient. This guide prints both figures. Treat either figure as a below-ambient claim, not a set temperature.

Is the VonShef 20L a good buy in the United States?

No, not as a United States purchase. Its verified listing is United Kingdom only, with a 220 to 240V mains lead. United States buyers should choose the Koolatron P25 instead, and United Kingdom readers should check the model number. Older review figures belong to a different model.

Which 20-litre cooler should I buy for overlanding?

The BougeRV CRPRO 21 Quart, for its fridge and freezer modes, published battery cut-offs, and tie-down points. If lowest power draw matters more, choose the Setpower RF20 at 28 watts in ECO mode. For day-trip drinks only, the Koolatron P25 is simpler and lighter.

Sources & changelog

Manufacturer and manual sources: Alpicool series page, Alpicool C20 manual, BougeRV CRPRO manual, Setpower RF20 manual, Setpower RF20/RF25 manual PDF, VonShef 1000237.1 manual, Koolatron P25 manual summary, GO Outdoors Hi-Gear brand page.

Owner and review sources: Camping Secrets electric cool box review, Outdoor Mag electric cool box picks, Alpicool C20 owner review, older VonShef review (figures not carried over).

Amazon listings are linked from the buy buttons above. No Amazon link is given for the Hi-Gear 20L or for the United Kingdom-only VonShef 20L with the United States tag.

Changelog — October 27, 2026: guide first published.

By Leo, Founder, WinchInsider

Leo founded WinchInsider to give drivers clear, source-checked buying advice on vehicle gear, with maker figures quoted as rated to and owner reports paraphrased from their sources.

Related guides

Closest verified alternative: Koolatron P25

Check Price