Every budget amplifier shelf runs the same trick: a box that shouts four figures of wattage, priced like a round of drinks, that somehow cannot wake up a single subwoofer. The badge says one thing, the bass says another, and the buyer blames their wiring, their sub, their head unit — everything except the number that was never true.
Here is what the box never mentions: every one of these amplifiers carries a small printed confession in its own manual, a single number that caps how much power it can physically make. Find that number, do ten seconds of arithmetic, and the honest amplifiers separate themselves before you spend anything.
This guide ranks five amplifiers in the under-100 tier by the only wattage that exists — documented RMS, checked against each amp’s fuse — and names the five we screened out, including the famous badge whose own maker publishes four different “RMS” figures for one amplifier.
The 30-second answer
For a single subwoofer, take the Skar Audio RP-350.1D — the one amplifier in this tier whose model name is its real RMS figure — though it has no Amazon listing we could verify, so it runs on a written alternative below. Powering four door speakers, take the Taramps TS 400×4, with its 10%-THD footnote attached. For a factory-radio speaker upgrade, the Pioneer GM-A3702 is the big-brand CEA-rated buy. The Rockville RXA-T1 makes the most documented power if your trunk can swallow a 17-inch chassis. Buy the BOSS R1100M only with open eyes: plan around roughly 250 honest watts, whatever the badge says.
How we researched this guide
We profiled five amplifiers in depth and screened out five more, each exclusion documented. Every wattage figure comes from the maker’s own manual or CEA-style spec block — about twelve manufacturer documents — cross-checked against roughly a dozen retailer and listing sources and four owner-report sources. One pick, the Skar, has no verifiable Amazon listing, so it carries a written alternative instead of a button. Owner evidence at this tier is thin, and this guide says so where it matters.
Skar Audio RP-350.1D
A compact Class D monoblock whose manual prints a full RMS table — 350 W at 1 ohm — and no peak figure at all. Best if one subwoofer is the whole job. No Amazon listing could be verified, so the button is the documented alternative explained in its review.
Taramps TS 400×4
A palm-size Class D 4-channel that powers four door speakers — or two speakers plus a bridged small sub — with speaker-level input and automatic turn-on. Best if the whole system runs from one small box. Its RMS is rated at THD up to 10%; that footnote travels with the figure.
Pioneer GM-A3702
A big-brand Class A/B 2-channel with CEA-style continuous ratings — 60 honest watts per channel — plus speaker-level inputs and signal-sensing turn-on. Best if a front pair is the upgrade and the factory radio stays.
Rockville RXA-T1
A full-size Class A/B 2-channel whose manual separates CEA-2006 RMS from peak in print: 370 W bridged for a sub, or 125 W per channel. Best if you have trunk room — at 17 inches, it will not fit under most seats.
BOSS Audio R1100M
The budget monoblock you will meet everywhere — a real, usable sub amp of roughly 250 honest watts wearing a much bigger badge. Best for the cheapest documented route to modest bass, once you have read its review’s warning.
Quick compare
| Amplifier | Best for | Channels | Honest RMS | Check Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skar Audio RP-350.1D | One subwoofer | Mono | 350 W at 1 ohm (manual) | Check Price |
| Taramps TS 400×4 | Four speakers | 4 | 4 × 100 W at 2 ohms (10% THD) | Check Price |
| Pioneer GM-A3702 | Front speakers | 2 | 60 W × 2 at 4 ohms (CEA-style) | Check Price |
| Rockville RXA-T1 | Bridged sub power | 2 | 370 W bridged (CEA-2006) | Check Price |
| BOSS Audio R1100M | Cheapest modest bass | Mono | About 250 W at 4 ohms (fuse-checked) | Check Price |
Skar buttons point to the documented alternative, the BOSS R1100M — no Amazon listing for the Skar could be verified. Every other button is that amplifier’s own listing.
Detailed reviews: every pick, spec by spec
Best Overall: Skar Audio RP-350.1D
Best Overall
Why the Skar Audio RP-350.1D is our pick
It is the only amplifier in this tier whose documentation is honest end to end: a complete RMS table with distortion conditions, no peak figure at all, and a model name that is itself the 1-ohm RMS figure. Run the fuse test on it — a 30 A fuse allows roughly 432 W in, and at the maker’s claimed Class D efficiency above 90 percent, the claimed 350 W out is physically coherent. The catch is purchasing: no Amazon listing could be verified, so it ships as a written-alternative pick.
Skar Audio RP-350.1D key specs
- Type: Class D monoblock, subwoofer amplifier
- RMS power: 150 W × 1 at 4 ohms; 250 W × 1 at 2 ohms; 350 W × 1 at 1 ohm (manual)
- Rating conditions: THD under 0.1% at 4 ohms; efficiency over 90% (maker claim)
- Fuse: 30 A, single
- Low-pass filter: 50–220 Hz, 24 dB/octave
- Inputs: RCA in and out (daisy-chain); sensitivity 0.2–6 V
- Warranty: not printed in the manual (see owners section)
Skar Audio RP-350.1D: fits and best for
A single subwoofer in a small or medium car, especially an 8- or 10-inch sub in a compact enclosure. At just over six inches each way it fits under seats that exclude every other pick here. It assumes an aftermarket head unit or a line-output converter: the manual documents no speaker-level input.
Skar Audio RP-350.1D pros and watch-outs
- The tier’s best documentation: full RMS table, no peak figure
- 1-ohm stable — the only pick for parallel-wired dual-voice-coil subs
- Genuinely compact at 6.23 × 6.30 × 2.20 in
- Fuse math confirms the headline claim
- No verified Amazon listing — maker’s store or another channel only
- No speaker-level input documented; factory-radio users need a converter
- Remote knob not confirmed for this model (see owners)
Skar Audio RP-350.1D: what owners report
An Amazon-review aggregate at ehgrade reports owners pairing it with 8-inch subwoofers — including in a Mazda Miata — praising the size and value, and noting it runs warm under heavy sustained load. A soundboxlab roundup lists blown fuses among owner-reported complaints; treat that as an aggregator gist, not a tested finding. Two cautions: the manual’s spec table marks the series’ remote control N/A for this model, so do not count on a bass knob; and while the manual prints no warranty term, an owner reference on The Hull Truth forum cites a two-year warranty from direct experience.
Skar Audio RP-350.1D: who should not buy
Skip it if you need one-click Amazon buying, if your factory radio has no preamp outputs and you refuse a line-output converter, or if your subwoofer plan needs more than 350 documented watts.
Skar Audio RP-350.1D: pair it with
Pair it with an OFC wiring kit sized to its 30 A fuse — its terminals accept 4-gauge — and a dual-voice-coil sub wired to 1 or 2 ohms. The terminal craft for those lugs is in our crimping tools price guide.
Written alternative: we could not verify an Amazon ASIN for the RP-350.1D from listing data, so this pick carries no Amazon button of its own. Buy it through Skar Audio’s own store. If you want a one-click Amazon monoblock instead, the documented alternative is the BOSS R1100M reviewed below — read its warning first, then use its button here.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: a Class D amp this small still needs air. Leave clearance around the heatsink — the same ventilation discipline our winch install guide applies to power cabling.
Best 4-Channel: Taramps TS 400×4
Best 4-Channel
Why the Taramps TS 400×4 is our pick
It is the only multi-channel pick in the tier: a palm-size Class D 4-channel that powers four door speakers from one box, or two speakers plus a bridged small sub. The current manual revision adds what factory-radio owners need — a WIRE high-level input with automatic turn-on. Taramps prints RMS figures only, with no peak number anywhere. The honesty condition is printed on the rating itself: those RMS figures are measured at up to 10% THD, a footnote this guide repeats wherever the numbers appear, because a 10%-THD watt and a 1%-THD watt are different currencies.
Taramps TS 400×4 key specs
- Type: Class D 4-channel mini amplifier
- RMS power at 2 ohms: 4 × 100 W at 13.8 V — rated at THD up to 10% (manual footnote)
- RMS power at 4 ohms: 4 × 63 W; bridged 2 × 200 W at 4 ohms — same 10%-THD condition
- Crossovers: fixed high-pass 90 Hz and low-pass 90 Hz, not adjustable
- Inputs: RCA, plus WIRE high-level input with automatic turn-on (current revision)
- Consumption: 33 A maximum rated; 16.5 A musical
- Dimensions and weight: 5.43 × 1.93 × 4.76 in; 1.32 lb
Taramps TS 400×4: fits and best for
A whole speaker system on one small amplifier: four door speakers in a compact car, or a front pair plus a small bridged subwoofer. At 1.32 lb it mounts almost anywhere, and the high-level input makes it the natural factory-radio pick.
Taramps TS 400×4 pros and watch-outs
- Four real channels in a 1.32 lb box — unique in this tier
- High-level WIRE input with automatic turn-on for factory radios
- RMS-only documentation; no peak figure published
- Bridgeable — two channels can run a small sub
- RMS rated at up to 10% THD — plan on materially less at 1%
- Crossovers fixed at 90 Hz both ways; the split is chosen for you
- The case is the heatsink, and the manual cautions it runs hot
- Owner coverage specific to this model is thin (see below)
Taramps TS 400×4: what owners report
Owner coverage for this exact model is thin: no model-specific owner thread was captured in our research, so this pick stands on its manual alone. Class reputation is not owner evidence for this unit, and we do not print it as such. If owner depth matters more than channel count, the Pioneer below has the deeper — if partly non-US — owner base.
Taramps TS 400×4: who should not buy
Skip it if you need adjustable crossovers, if you listen for measured low-distortion output (the opposite of a 10%-THD rating), or if your speakers are 4-ohm-only and power-hungry — at 4 ohms this is a 63 W per channel amplifier, not a 100 W one.
Taramps TS 400×4: pair it with
Pair it with four efficient door speakers and keep the bridged pair in reserve for a small sub. The dashboard end of the same system is covered in our Android Auto adapter review.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: the manual asks for at least an inch of space around the heatsink, away from fuel lines and heat. Treat that inch as a specification, not a suggestion.
Best for Speakers: Pioneer GM-A3702
Best for Speakers
Why the Pioneer GM-A3702 is our pick
This is the big-brand discipline pick. Pioneer’s manual prints continuous power the CEA way — 60 W per channel at 14.4 V across the full 20 Hz–20 kHz bandwidth at no more than 1.0% THD+N — so its figures compare like-for-like. It is also the cleanest factory-radio integration here: speaker-level inputs with automatic signal sensing, so it wakes with the radio and needs no remote wire. One honest flag: its US shelf presence is now mostly marketplace and import.
Pioneer GM-A3702 key specs
- Type: Class A/B 2-channel amplifier
- Continuous (RMS) power at 4 ohms: 60 W × 2 at 14.4 V, 20 Hz–20 kHz, THD+N no more than 1.0%
- Continuous power at 2 ohms: 95 W × 2; bridged 190 W × 1 at 4 ohms (same conditions)
- Inputs: RCA plus speaker-level, with automatic signal-sensing turn-on
- Fuse: 25 A; current consumption 14.5 A at continuous power
- Warranty: not stated in the manual (defers to the included card)
Pioneer GM-A3702: fits and best for
A front speaker pair upgrade behind a factory or aftermarket head unit, for an owner who wants brand-name documentation and painless integration. The bridged 190 W mode gives it a second life running a small subwoofer.
Pioneer GM-A3702 pros and watch-outs
- CEA-style continuous ratings with full conditions
- Speaker-level inputs with automatic sensing: the easiest factory-radio install here
- Bridgeable to 190 W for a small sub
- US availability is now mostly marketplace and import channels
- 60 W per channel is honest but not generous — inefficient speakers will want more
- No preamp outputs
Pioneer GM-A3702: what owners report
The deepest owner base we found sits on Flipkart in India, where the model carries hundreds of owner ratings — real depth, but a non-US marketplace. A US review at 99carstereo praises its clarity and value; US owner depth beyond it is thin. Where sources disagree with the manual on filters, the manual governs: a switchable low-pass, no range claimed.
Pioneer GM-A3702: who should not buy
Skip it if you need four channels from one box (that is the Taramps), if your speakers demand serious power at 4 ohms, or if you want a current mainstream US retail listing.
Pioneer GM-A3702: pair it with
Pair it with a competent front component or coaxial pair, and budget for proper power and ground cable — the same discipline as our winch wiring guide.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: use the signal-sensing turn-on and you skip the remote-wire run entirely. Keep the power run fused at the battery, as with any 12 V install.
Best Bridged Power: Rockville RXA-T1
Best Bridged Power
Why the Rockville RXA-T1 is our pick
Rockville’s manual does something rare at this price: it prints CEA-2006 RMS figures and the peak figures on the same page, clearly separated. The result is the most documented power in the guide — 370 W bridged for a subwoofer, or 125 W per channel for speakers — backed by a 50 A fuse that makes the arithmetic work. Its “Dyno Certified” label is the brand’s own name for those figures, not an independent certificate. The trade is physical: a traditional big-heatsink amplifier, 17 inches long.
Rockville RXA-T1 key specs
- Type: Class A/B 2-channel amplifier
- RMS power (CEA-2006) at 4 ohms: 2 × 125 W at 1% THD+N
- RMS power at 2 ohms: 2 × 185 W; bridged 1 × 370 W at 4 ohms
- Maker peak (printed separately in the manual): 2 × 750 W at 2 ohms; 1500 W bridged
- Fuse: 50 A maxi
- Crossovers: adjustable low-pass 50–250 Hz and high-pass 15–250 Hz (retailer listing copy)
- Dimensions and weight: 17 × 10.5 × 4 in; 7.78 lb
Rockville RXA-T1: fits and best for
A trunk or side-panel install where a 17-inch chassis genuinely fits: a strong front pair today, a bridged subwoofer tomorrow. The pick for the largest documented wattage in the tier — if you have the sheet metal to house it.
Rockville RXA-T1 pros and watch-outs
- Most documented power in the guide: 370 W bridged, CEA-2006 basis
- Manual prints RMS and peak separately — the honest format
- Fully adjustable crossovers, unlike the fixed-filter Taramps
- 50 A fuse supports the claims under the fuse test
- 17 inches long and 7.78 lb — trunk mounting only; forget under-seat
- Retail roundups inflate its bridged total into a per-channel figure
- Class A/B heat and current draw are the price of the power
Rockville RXA-T1: what owners report
No model-specific owner thread was captured in our research — Rockville’s marketplace review base is large but was not readable as independent owner evidence in this pass, so this pick stands on its manual. One warning: retail roundups repeat a “375 W RMS” figure, one printing it as per-channel. That is the 370 W bridged total, inflated downstream — the manual’s figures above are the ones to hold.
Rockville RXA-T1: who should not buy
Skip it if your only mounting space is under a seat, or if a 50 A draw is more than your car’s electrical system should be asked for.
Rockville RXA-T1: pair it with
Pair it with a 4-gauge OFC power run and a subwoofer that respects the 4-ohm bridged minimum. New to terminal work? Our crimping tools alternatives guide covers the no-cost methods and their limits.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: measure before ordering — length, not power, is this amplifier’s real specification. A cardboard template of 17 × 10.5 inches settles it in a minute.
Buy With Eyes Open: BOSS Audio R1100M
Buy With Eyes Open
Why the BOSS Audio R1100M is our pick
Because you will meet it anyway. This is the archetypal budget monoblock — sold everywhere — and it is a real, usable subwoofer amp of roughly 250 honest watts wearing a badge four times that size. It earns its place as this guide’s worked example of documentation failure: the maker’s own materials publish four mutually contradictory “RMS” figures — 1100 W in the manual’s table (the table labels the same figure as both 4-ohm RMS and 2-ohm MAX — both cannot be true), 825 W in a retailer spec feed, 550 W in a manual summary that relabels the 4-ohm peak, and 250 W in retailer copy. Its 30 A fuse settles the argument: about 432 W can go in, so physics allows roughly 215–280 W out. Plan around 250 W and this is a legitimate cheap amplifier; believe the badge and it is a disappointment with a power cable.
BOSS Audio R1100M key specs
- Type: Class A/B monoblock, 2-ohm stable (not bridgeable, not 1-ohm stable)
- Planning RMS: about 250 W × 1 at 4 ohms — the only maker-side figure the 30 A fuse supports
- Maker’s headline: 1100 W maximum — a max figure, never an RMS figure (see the contradiction above)
- CEA-2006: not compliant (retailer specification data)
- Fuse: 30 A, single
- Low-pass filter: 40–130 Hz (manual governs over retailer copy)
- Inputs: RCA plus speaker-level; remote subwoofer control included
- Recommended power wire: 4-gauge (retailer data)
- Warranty: 1 year standard; a 6-year extension applies only when the unit is sold and shipped by Amazon.com (manual condition)
BOSS Audio R1100M: fits and best for
A modest single subwoofer in a daily driver, for a buyer who has read this review and plans around roughly 250 W. Wired honestly — a 4-ohm load, gains set against the real figure — it does that job.
BOSS Audio R1100M pros and watch-outs
- A real ~250 W subwoofer amplifier once the badge is discounted
- The fuse-test case study in product form
- Conditional 6-year warranty extension when sold and shipped by Amazon.com
- Four contradictory maker-side “RMS” figures — never trust any but the fuse-checked one
- Not CEA-2006 compliant, so no like-for-like comparison is possible
- Review base includes promotion-collected reviews
BOSS Audio R1100M: what owners report
Thin, and flagged: this amplifier’s Target review base is marked as collected as part of a promotion — incentivised, not independent — and no independent owner thread was captured in our research. So this pick stands on documentation, and its documentation is exactly the problem described above. Buy it for the amplifier the fuse says it is.
BOSS Audio R1100M: who should not buy
Skip it if your subwoofer needs more than about 250 W, if you are matching components by printed RMS figures, or if the warranty extension matters but your purchase will not be sold and shipped by Amazon.com — marketplace sellers are outside that condition.
BOSS Audio R1100M: pair it with
Pair it with a single 4-ohm subwoofer of modest appetite and a 4-gauge wiring kit, and set the gain against the 250 W figure, not the badge.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: before any budget amplifier leaves the shop page, find its fuse rating in the manual and multiply by 14. If the claimed RMS beats that product, close the tab — this amplifier is why the rule exists.
Spec comparison
| Amplifier | RMS figure and its conditions | Fuse | Warranty | Check Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skar Audio RP-350.1D | 150 W × 1 at 4 ohms; 350 W × 1 at 1 ohm — manual table, THD under 0.1% | 30 A | Not printed in manual | Check Price |
| Taramps TS 400×4 | 4 × 100 W at 2 ohms — manual footnote: rated at THD up to 10% | 33 A max draw | 12 months (manual) | Check Price |
| Pioneer GM-A3702 | 60 W × 2 at 4 ohms — 14.4 V, 20 Hz–20 kHz, THD+N no more than 1.0%; CEA-2006 block | 25 A | Not stated in manual | Check Price |
| Rockville RXA-T1 | 2 × 125 W at 4 ohms — CEA-2006, 1% THD+N; 370 W bridged | 50 A | 1 year (manual) | Check Price |
| BOSS Audio R1100M | About 250 W × 1 at 4 ohms — fuse-checked planning figure; maker’s other printed figures contradict each other | 30 A | 1 year; 6-year extension only if sold and shipped by Amazon.com | Check Price |
Read the conditions column before the wattage column — the whole point of this guide in one habit. The Skar row’s button is its documented alternative (the BOSS); every other row’s button is that amplifier’s own listing.
Amplifier finder
Answer one question — what is this amplifier for? Every route ends at a pick from this guide, with its button.
Skar Audio RP-350.1D. The documented monoblock: 350 W at 1 ohm, from a manual that prints its conditions and no peak figure. No verified Amazon listing — sold through the maker’s store; the button is the documented alternative, the BOSS R1100M, reviewed below.
Taramps TS 400×4. Four channels at 4 × 100 W (2 ohms, rated at up to 10% THD) in a 1.32 lb box, with high-level input and automatic turn-on — the whole speaker system from one amplifier.
Pioneer GM-A3702. Speaker-level inputs with automatic signal sensing, so the factory radio wakes it with no remote wire — and CEA-style ratings of 60 W × 2.
Rockville RXA-T1. The most documented power here — 2 × 125 W CEA-2006, or 370 W bridged for a sub — provided your trunk can take a 17-inch chassis.
Start with the fuse test. Our top pick is the Skar Audio RP-350.1D — the one amplifier whose manual survives its own arithmetic. It has no verified Amazon listing (sold via the maker’s store), so its button is the documented alternative, the BOSS R1100M — plan around 250 W.
How to choose a cheap amplifier
Run the fuse test first
Continuous output can never exceed input, and the fuse caps the input. Find the fuse rating in the maker’s manual and multiply by 14: the BOSS’s 30 A fuse allows about 432 W in, so its four-figure RMS claims fail on arithmetic alone, while the Skar’s identical fuse comfortably covers its Class D claim. If a claimed RMS beats the fuse product, walk away.
Read the rating conditions, not the headline
An RMS figure means nothing without its conditions: load impedance, supply voltage, frequency range and distortion ceiling. Pioneer’s 60 W is quoted at 14.4 V across 20 Hz–20 kHz at no more than 1.0% THD+N; Taramps’ 100 W channels are quoted at up to 10% THD — audible-clipping territory. Both are printed honestly, but they are different currencies — never rank them as equals.
Peak and PMPO are marketing units
Peak is a momentary burst figure with no standardised measurement in this market, and PMPO is worse. The disciplined end of the tier shows the honest spread: Rockville’s manual prints 1500 W peak beside 370 W bridged RMS — a four-times gap on a well-kept spec sheet. If a listing’s headline wattage has no RMS figure beneath it in the maker’s own documents, the product has no documented power at all — which is why the Pyle PLA2200, a “1400 W” amplifier with no published RMS, is not a pick here.
Count inputs before channels
Keeping the factory head unit is an input question: you need speaker-level (high-level) inputs, and ideally signal-sensing turn-on so no remote wire must be run. Pioneer, Taramps (current revision), Rockville and BOSS all document a route; the Skar documents none and assumes an aftermarket head unit or a line-output converter. Decide this fork before you shop.
Bridging and impedance discipline
A bridgeable 2-channel (Pioneer at 190 W, Rockville at 370 W) can run speakers today and a small sub tomorrow, but the bridged minimum load is 4 ohms on both; wire a 2-ohm sub across a bridged pair and the manuals’ troubleshooting tables predict the result — protection mode and heat. Only the Skar is 1-ohm stable.
Size the wiring to the fuse, not the badge
Power cable follows actual current draw: the Skar’s terminals accept 4-gauge, retailer data recommends 4-gauge for the BOSS, and the Taramps manual pairs its cabling with a battery-side fuse or breaker. Copper-clad aluminium kits must be upsized against OFC for the same current. Choose the kit for the fuse, not the fantasy wattage.
Installation and wiring basics
Every manual behind this guide starts the same way: disconnect the battery first. Then protect the run at its source — Taramps instructs a fuse or circuit breaker near the battery, sized to the manual’s rating. The same discipline anchors our winch installation guide; high-current 12 V work is one craft, whichever box sits at the end of the cable.
Grounding decides whether the install works. BOSS’s troubleshooting names loose or poor ground contact as a primary cause of protection faults, so keep the ground run short, the same gauge as the power run, and landed on bare, tight metal. Taramps wants a firm spot with at least an inch of space around the heatsink, away from dust, humidity, fuel tanks and heat sources; Skar warns to mount securely enough that the amplifier cannot become a projectile in a sudden stop. Finish by setting gains against the documented RMS figure — and if the wiring craft is new to you, our winch wiring guide covers cable sizing, terminals and chassis grounding.
Safety essentials
The makers’ own safety rules, collected from the manuals behind this guide:
- Disconnect the battery before making any electrical connection.
- Fit the fuse or breaker at the battery, at the manual’s rating: it protects the car from a shorted power cable, not just the amp.
- Never run a speaker load below the amplifier’s rated minimum impedance.
- Leave ventilation space around the heatsink (Taramps specifies at least an inch) and keep amplifiers away from fuel lines, heat and moisture.
- Mount the amplifier firmly so it cannot move in a sudden stop or collision.
- The makers recommend qualified professional installation at this tier; if you DIY, wear the gloves and eye protection their manuals specify.
Troubleshooting
| Symptom | Likely cause | Fix |
|---|---|---|
| Protection light after hard bass | Speaker load below the amp’s minimum impedance | Rewire coils in series; check the manual’s minimum first |
| Amp runs hot, then shuts down | Blocked heatsink or too-low load | Restore case clearance and verify the load |
| No turn-on with a factory radio | No remote trigger reaching the amplifier | Use a signal-sensing pick, or add a line-output converter |
| Battery-side fuse keeps blowing | Shorted power cable, or an oversized fuse hiding the fault | Inspect the cable run for chafing; refit only the rated fuse |
| Weak bass despite a huge badge number | The headline was peak, not RMS | Re-plan around documented RMS and reset the gain |
| Whine that follows engine speed | Poor ground contact (named in the manuals’ fault tables) | Re-make the ground: short run, same gauge as power, bare metal, tight |
Who should NOT buy a cheap amplifier
You are building for competition or demonstration volume. Nothing in this tier is documented for that work, and no dyno evidence for any pick was captured in our research.
You will not run proper power cable. Every figure here assumes wiring sized to the fuse. A thin copper-clad kit will strangle any of these amplifiers; if the cable budget is zero, the amplifier budget should wait.
Your only space is under a seat, but your eye is on the Rockville. At 17 inches it is a trunk amplifier. Buy the Class D pick that fits.
You are matching a system by printed RMS numbers. At this tier the printed numbers are not one currency. If your speakers were chosen against a badge figure, re-plan both halves against documented RMS.
Real-world notes: what the research could not prove
Here is this guide’s thin ice. Owner evidence is scarce across the tier: one review aggregate for the Skar, a non-US marketplace base for the Pioneer, incentivised-only reviews for the BOSS, and nothing model-specific captured for the Taramps or the Rockville. No independent bench or dyno measurement of any pick was captured — Rockville’s “Dyno Certified” is the brand’s name for its own CEA-style ratings, reported here as exactly that. Two picks are ageing nameplates whose listings churn — one more reason this guide prints no prices and ranks by documentation instead.
FAQ
What does RMS actually mean, and why is it the only wattage I should trust?
RMS is continuous power — what the amplifier can deliver indefinitely, measured under stated conditions of load, voltage, frequency and distortion. Peak figures describe a momentary burst with no standardised measurement behind them in this market, which is why one maker can print four different numbers for the same amplifier. Judge by documented RMS with its conditions attached, and let the badge say what it wants.
How does the fuse test work?
An amplifier cannot output more continuous power than its fuse lets in. Multiply the fuse rating by roughly 14 volts and you have the input ceiling: a 30 A fuse allows about 432 W in. A Class A/B stage converts perhaps half to two-thirds of that into output; a Class D stage, considerably more. If a claimed RMS exceeds what its own fuse permits, the claim is arithmetic fiction — caught in ten seconds, from the maker’s own manual.
Why is the Taramps rated at 10% THD, and does it matter?
Taramps’ manual rates the TS 400×4 at 1 kHz into a resistive load with distortion up to 10% — its own printed footnote. Ten percent distortion is audible-clipping territory, so the same amplifier measured at the 1% ceiling Pioneer and Rockville use would post a materially lower figure. It matters for comparison, not honesty: the footnote is printed, but the two figures are different currencies and should never be ranked as equals.
Will these amplifiers work with my factory radio?
Only if the inputs line up. A factory head unit has no preamp outputs, so you need speaker-level inputs — Pioneer, Taramps, Rockville and BOSS all document them — and ideally signal-sensing turn-on, which the Pioneer and current Taramps provide. The Skar documents no speaker-level input at all: with a factory radio it needs a line-output converter, or it is the wrong pick.
What size power wire do I need?
Size the cable to the amplifier’s fuse rating and the length of the run, not to the wattage on the box. The Skar’s terminals accept 4-gauge, retailer data recommends 4-gauge for the BOSS, and the Taramps manual pairs its cabling with a battery-side fuse or breaker. Copper-clad aluminium carries less current than pure copper at the same gauge, so upsize a CCA kit or buy OFC.
Is the BOSS R1100M really an 1100-watt amplifier?
No. The 1100 W figure is a maximum headline, and the maker’s documents contradict each other about the RMS beneath it, printing 1100 W, 825 W and 550 W in different places. Its 30 A fuse caps input at about 432 W, which supports the remaining maker-side figure of roughly 250 W at 4 ohms. Bought as a 250 W amplifier, it is a usable budget mono; bought as an 1100 W one, a disappointment.
Why is there no Pyle amplifier in the picks?
Because the Pyle PLA2200 fails this guide’s documentation rule: its maker publishes peak figures only — 1400 W bridged — and no RMS figure exists in any maker document we found. Its own series table gives the game away, listing two 10 A fuses: a maximum input of about 288 W against that 1400 W badge. No documented continuous power, no place in this guide.
Final verdict
- Skar Audio RP-350.1D — our top pick: a full RMS table, no peak figure, a fuse that backs the claim. No verified Amazon listing — sold via the maker’s own store (written alternative); the button is the documented alternative, the BOSS R1100M. Check Price
- Taramps TS 400×4 — the whole-system pick: four channels and factory-radio inputs in 1.32 lb, with its 10%-THD footnote attached. Check Price
- Pioneer GM-A3702 — the big-brand pick: CEA-style continuous ratings and the cleanest factory-radio integration here. Check Price
- Rockville RXA-T1 — the power pick: 370 documented bridged watts, if your trunk can house 17 inches of amplifier. Check Price
- BOSS Audio R1100M — the eyes-open pick: a real roughly 250 W mono whose contradictory documentation is this guide’s standing warning. Check Price
Sources
Manufacturer documents
- Skar Audio RP series owner’s manual
- Taramps TS 400×4 manual (official PDF)
- Taramps TS 400×4 manual (manuals.plus, ASIN-keyed)
- BOSS RIOT series manual
- BOSS R1100M manual (manuals.plus)
- Rockville RXA-T1 manual
- Pioneer GM-A3702 datasheet
- Pioneer GM-A3702/A5702 manual
- Pyle Chopper series table
- Planet Audio 2020 catalog
Retailer and listing evidence
- Taramps TS 400×4 Amazon price record
- BOSS R1100M Amazon price record
- Sound Ordnance M350-1 at Crutchfield (discontinued)
- Rockville RXA-T1 at Walmart (Audiosavings)
- BOSS R1100M retailer copy (250 W figure)
- Pioneer GM-A3702 at CEN (UK retail)
Owner reports and independent sources
- Skar RP-350.1D owner aggregate (ehgrade)
- Skar RP owner roundup (soundboxlab)
- Pioneer GM-A3702 owner base (Flipkart, non-US)
- Skar warranty reference (The Hull Truth)
By Leo, Founder, WinchInsider
Leo founded WinchInsider to publish research-based buying guides for winches and vehicle accessories. Every guide on the site is built from manufacturer documents, manuals and real owner reports, and every pick has to earn its place on evidence — affiliate links never change a ranking.
Related guides
- Android Auto adapters — the source-unit side of the system
- How to wire a winch — 12 V cable and grounding craft
- How to install a winch on a truck — breaker-at-the-battery discipline
- Crimping tools — terminal craft for heavy power lugs
- Amplifiers — the full category
- Car Electronics and Infotainment guides
Our top pick: Skar Audio RP-350.1D — no verified Amazon listing; sold via the maker’s store. This button is its documented alternative, the BOSS R1100M.