How we researched this guide
We compared 5 tool chests and cabinets sold on Amazon, checking maker listings, a maker brochure, retailer spec tables and manual summaries, and reading third-party and owner-style reports for the models where they exist. Five further products were considered and left out because they were overlapping variants, modular boxes rather than drawer chests, or a sister listing of a pick already in the guide. No listing was invented to fill a gap.
Every specification below comes from the research notes for this guide. Where a figure is listing-stated rather than maker-confirmed, or where a dimension was not confirmed for the exact model, the text says so plainly instead of borrowing a figure from a sister model.
The 30-second answer
If you have a full garage wall, the Husky 52 in. 9-Drawer Mobile Workbench is the best overall pick, with a solid wood top, a built-in power centre and a total capacity rated to 1,200 lb. The Milwaukee 52 in. 11-Drawer Mobile Workbench is the heavy-capacity pick, rated to 1,800 lb in total. For a smaller space, choose the Craftsman 1000 Series 4-Drawer Rolling Tool Cabinet, the Craftsman 1000 Series 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo, or the GEARWRENCH GSX 35 in. 7-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart, depending on how many drawers you need and how much wall width you can spare.
Best Overall
Husky 52 in. 9-Drawer Mobile Workbench
The full-size workbench pick: a thick solid wood top to work on, nine drawers, and a power centre built into the side. Best if you want one station for storage and bench work.
Best Heavy Capacity
Milwaukee 52 in. 11-Drawer Mobile Workbench
Eleven drawers and the highest total capacity in this guide, with a clamp-ready wood top. Best if your collection is large and heavy.
Best Compact Cabinet
CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 4-Drawer Rolling Tool Cabinet
A single rolling cabinet that fits a narrow bay and still locks. Best if floor space is tight and four drawers cover your kit.
Best Two-Piece Combo
CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo
A chest stacked on a rolling cabinet, with a lift-up bulk storage panel. Best if you want separated everyday tools and bulk storage in one footprint.
Best Rolling Cart
GEARWRENCH GSX 35 in. 7-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart
Seven drawers in a 35-inch cart with a lift top and a built-in charging station. Best if you roll your tools to the job instead of walking to a wall bench.
| Pick | Drawers | Footprint | Rated capacity | Check Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Husky 52 in. 9-Drawer Workbench | 9 | About 55.25 in. W x 24.5 in. D | 1,200 lb total | |
| Milwaukee 52 in. 11-Drawer Workbench | 11 | 52 in. W, depth not published | 1,800 lb total | |
| Craftsman 4-Drawer Cabinet | 4 | 26.5 in. W x 18 in. D | 500 lb maximum | |
| Craftsman 5-Drawer Combo | 5 | 26.5 in. W x 18 in. D | 400 lb, listing-stated | |
| GEARWRENCH GSX 35 in. Cart | 7 | 35 in. W x 20 in. D | Drawers rated to 100 lb each |
Tool chest finder: what fits your garage?
Enter your available wall width and how many drawers you need. The finder recommends only picks from this guide, with that pick’s button. If no pick fits your width, it names the narrowest pick in the guide and links to the wider category archive.
How to choose a tool chest on Amazon
Start with the wall, not the drawer count. A chest that cannot get through the door or sit flat against the wall will frustrate you every day, however good its slides are. Measure the width, the depth with the drawers open, and the route from the delivery point to its final spot before you compare anything else.
Width, depth and door clearance
Measure the wall run, then subtract room for the handle and for casters to turn. Check the depth with drawers fully open, because a deep workbench eats floor space you may need for a vehicle door. Also measure every doorway and tight turn on the delivery route, since a 52-inch bench is awkward to manoeuvre once boxed.
Drawer count versus drawer depth
More drawers are not automatically better. Shallow drawers suit sockets and wrenches, while deep bottom drawers suit power tools and bulky kits. Count what you actually own by size class, then match the drawer layout to those groups rather than chasing the highest drawer number on the listing.
Weight capacity and slide ratings
Compare total capacity with per-drawer slide ratings, because the two figures answer different questions. A high total rating means little if your heaviest drawer overloads its slides. Put dense items such as socket sets low, keep the heaviest drawer within its slide rating, and treat listing-only figures as provisional until a maker source confirms them.
Steel gauge, top and finish
Steel gauge, the work top and the finish decide how the chest ages in a working garage. Thicker steel resists dents from dropped tools, a solid wood top gives you a usable bench surface, and a powder-coated or textured finish hides scuffs better than a glossy one. Match the top to the work: clamping and assembly favour a wood top.
Casters, locks and power
Casters decide whether a chest is genuinely mobile or only theoretically so. Look for swivel casters with brakes, rigid casters for straight tracking, and a rated caster set that suits a loaded chest. A key lock protects the whole cabinet at once, and a built-in power centre or charging station keeps chargers off the bench top.
Form factor: bench, cabinet, combo or cart
A mobile workbench is a bench first and storage second, a rolling cabinet is storage first, a combo stacks the two, and a cart is built to travel. Choose the form that matches where you work: fixed bench work favours a workbench, a shared bay favours a cabinet, and a multi-bay or driveway job favours a rolling cart.
Size reference: what each pick needs on your wall
| Pick | Width | Depth | Height | Drawers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Husky 52 in. 9-Drawer Workbench | About 55.25 in. | 24.5 in. | 37 in. | 9 |
| Milwaukee 52 in. 11-Drawer Workbench | 52 in. | Not published | Not published | 11 |
| Craftsman 4-Drawer Cabinet | 26.5 in. | 18 in. | 32.5 in. | 4 |
| Craftsman 5-Drawer Combo | 26.5 in. | 18 in. | 44.25 in. | 5 |
| GEARWRENCH GSX 35 in. Cart | 35 in. | 20 in. | 39 in. | 7 |
The Milwaukee depth and height are not stated here because they were not confirmed for model 48-22-8553 in this research; the figures for its sister model were deliberately not borrowed. The Craftsman combo height uses the retailer assembled figure of 44.25 inches, since the Amazon title rounds it to 44 inches. For the full range of chests in this family, see the tool chests archive and the wider garage and workshop equipment archive.
Tool chests by budget
| Tier | What you get | Example pick |
|---|---|---|
| Compact tier | One rolling cabinet, locking drawers, a small footprint | Craftsman 4-Drawer Cabinet |
| Mid tier | A combo or a rolling cart, more drawers, a work or lift top | Craftsman 5-Drawer Combo or GEARWRENCH GSX Cart |
| Full-size tier | A 52-inch workbench, a wood top, power and the highest capacities | Husky 9-Drawer or Milwaukee 11-Drawer Workbench |
No prices appear in this guide, so tiers describe size and capability rather than cost. If two picks both fit your wall, let drawer layout and total capacity break the tie, not the tier label.
Types of tool chests
| Type | Pros | Cons | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mobile workbench | Bench surface plus storage in one unit | Needs the most wall and floor space | A fixed garage workstation |
| Rolling cabinet | Small footprint, easy to reposition | Fewer drawers, no bench top | A tight bay or shared garage |
| Chest and cabinet combo | Separated everyday and bulk storage | Taller unit, heavier to move loaded | Stacked storage in one footprint |
| Rolling tool cart | Travels to the job, lift top access | Less total capacity than a bench | Multi-bay and driveway work |
Detailed reviews: the 5 tool chests we compared
Each review below uses only the verified figures from this guide’s research notes, states where a figure is listing-stated or unconfirmed, and ends with that pick’s own button. Read the drawer layout and footprint first; those two facts eliminate most wrong choices before capacity ever matters.
Best Overall: Husky 52 in. 9-Drawer Mobile Workbench
Best Overall — the full-size bench and storage station
Why the Husky 52 in. 9-Drawer Mobile Workbench is our pick
The Husky earns the top spot because it does two jobs at once: a workbench with a thick solid wood top over a nine-drawer cabinet, so tools and the job stay together. Total capacity is rated to 1,200 lb, slides to 100 lb per drawer, and a side-wall power centre keeps chargers close.
Husky 52 in. 9-Drawer Mobile Workbench key specs
- Drawers: 9, including a top long drawer and 2 deep bottom drawers
- Assembled size: about 55.25 in. W x 24.5 in. D x 37 in. H, with a 3.25 in. wide handle
- Construction: heavy 21-gauge steel
- Work top: 1 in. thick solid wood with a protective polyurethane coating
- Drawer slides: 100 lb rated ball-bearing slides, full extension; deep drawers have double sets
- Total capacity: rated to 1,200 lb
- Casters: 5 in. x 2 in.; 2 swivel casters with brake and 2 rigid casters
- Power centre: 6 outlets and 2 USB ports built into the side wall
- Drawer liners: included
- Warranty: 3-year limited warranty
- Amazon ASIN: B07NKTJTJN
- Cubic-inch storage: not stated for this 24.5 in. deep variant in this research
Husky 52 in. 9-Drawer Mobile Workbench: fits and best for
This bench suits a garage with at least 56 inches of clear wall plus room for its 24.5-inch depth and an open drawer. It fits a home mechanic with a full socket, wrench and power-tool collection who also wants a bench for assembly and small repairs. It is the wrong shape for a narrow bay where a vehicle door must open beside it.
Husky 52 in. 9-Drawer Mobile Workbench pros and watch-outs
- Solid wood bench top doubles as a work surface
- Nine drawers with full-extension, 100 lb rated slides
- Built-in 6-outlet and 2-USB power centre
- Drawer liners included, and deep drawers have double slide sets
- Braked swivel casters plus rigid casters for controlled moves
- Needs about 55.25 inches of wall width, plus handle room
- 24.5-inch depth eats floor space in a tight bay
- No cubic-inch storage figure verified for this exact variant
- Heavy once loaded, so plan its final position before filling it
Husky 52 in. 9-Drawer Mobile Workbench: what owners report
- Owner enthusiasm for Husky storage combinations recurs in the GarageTooled roundup, which discusses Husky cabinets generally rather than this exact listing. GarageTooled roundup
- That roundup is general family context, not an owner report on this exact ASIN. GarageTooled roundup
- No exact-ASIN owner report was verified for this bench in this research. Specification table
Husky 52 in. 9-Drawer Mobile Workbench: who should not buy
If your wall run is under 56 inches, do not buy this bench and hope it fits; the narrower Craftsman 4-Drawer Cabinet in this guide is the honest alternative. For mobile storage, the rolling GEARWRENCH cart below suits that job better.
Husky 52 in. 9-Drawer Mobile Workbench: pair it with
Keep recovery straps and shackles in the deep bottom drawers. A tree saver strap is a sensible first addition for winch-gear owners; see our tree saver guide and the verified strap below.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: lock the braked casters before leaning on the bench, and keep the heaviest tools in the deep bottom drawers. See our essential accessories guide.
Best Heavy Capacity: Milwaukee 52 in. 11-Drawer Mobile Workbench
Best Heavy Capacity — eleven drawers and the highest total rating here
Why the Milwaukee 52 in. 11-Drawer Mobile Workbench is our pick
The Milwaukee is the pick for the biggest, heaviest collections. Eleven drawers sort sockets, wrenches, drivers and specialty tools, total capacity is rated to 1,800 lb, the highest here, and four-slide drawers are rated to 200 lb for dense sets. The clamp-ready wood top makes it a usable bench.
Milwaukee 52 in. 11-Drawer Mobile Workbench key specs
- Model: 48-22-8553; UPC 045242560417
- Drawers: 11, lockable
- Width: 52 in.
- Depth: not published for this exact model in this research
- Height: not published for this exact model in this research
- Work top: clamp-ready wood top
- Total capacity: rated to 1,800 lb
- Drawer slide ratings: two-slide drawers rated to 100 lb; four-slide drawers rated to 200 lb
- Casters: swivel casters with brakes, plus a side handle for transport
- Power: built-in power strip with USB charging ports
- Amazon ASIN: B088TX7KTH
Milwaukee 52 in. 11-Drawer Mobile Workbench: fits and best for
This workbench fits a serious home or small professional shop where eleven drawers are genuinely needed and 52 inches can be spared. Because depth and height were not confirmed for this exact model, measure the delivered unit against your space before committing the wall around it.
Milwaukee 52 in. 11-Drawer Mobile Workbench pros and watch-outs
- Eleven lockable drawers for fine-grained sorting
- Highest total capacity in this guide, rated to 1,800 lb
- Four-slide drawers rated to 200 lb for dense sets
- Clamp-ready wood top for bench work
- Built-in power strip with USB charging
- Depth and height not confirmed for this exact model
- 52-inch width needs a full wall run
- No exact-ASIN owner report verified in this research
- Heaviest collections need careful loading, low and balanced
Milwaukee 52 in. 11-Drawer Mobile Workbench: what owners report
- Owner coverage for this exact model was thin, and no exact-ASIN owner report was verified, so none is invented here. Manual summary
- General Milwaukee modular-box comparisons concern different products and were not used as evidence for this chest. Manual summary
- Judge this pick on its maker-stated capacity, drawer ratings and lockable drawers until owner coverage for model 48-22-8553 is verified. Manual summary
Milwaukee 52 in. 11-Drawer Mobile Workbench: who should not buy
If you cannot confirm the depth and height against your bay, or if eleven drawers exceed what you own, do not buy on capacity alone. The Husky 9-Drawer Workbench above gives a fully dimensioned full-size alternative with a power centre.
Milwaukee 52 in. 11-Drawer Mobile Workbench: pair it with
With eleven drawers to fill, a recovery kit deserves its own drawer rather than a pile on the bench. A snatch block is a compact, heavy item that belongs low; see our snatch block guide and the verified block below.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: put dense socket and wrench sets in the four-slide drawers and lighter diagnostic kit up top, so the heaviest weight stays where the slides are strongest. For keeping that kit in order, see our maintenance checklist.
Best Compact Cabinet: CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 4-Drawer Rolling Tool Cabinet
Best Compact Cabinet — small footprint, locking drawers
Why the CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 4-Drawer Rolling Tool Cabinet is our pick
The Craftsman 4-drawer cabinet is the pick when space, not volume, is the constraint. At 26.5 inches wide and 18 inches deep it tucks into a bay or beside a workbench, yet still gives four steel drawers, a key lock and a 500 lb maximum capacity. For a starter kit or shared garage, four well-organised drawers beat a large bench that blocks a door.
CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 4-Drawer Rolling Tool Cabinet key specs
- Model: CMST22741BK; UPC 721615312868
- Drawers: 4, steel construction
- Assembled size: 26.5 in. W x 32.5 in. H x 18 in. D
- Finish: powder-coated
- Lock: key lock, with a set of keys included
- Maximum weight capacity: 500 lb
- Slides: full-extension, ball-bearing drawer slides
- Casters: caster set included
- Included components: caster set and a set of keys
- Amazon ASIN: B0872LX6FR
CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 4-Drawer Rolling Tool Cabinet: fits and best for
This cabinet fits a narrow bay or a corner beside a larger bench, and suits a starter collection or a focused kit for one vehicle. It also works as a second cabinet for overflow tools. It does not fit a full professional collection, and bulky power tools will exhaust drawer depth before weight capacity.
CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 4-Drawer Rolling Tool Cabinet pros and watch-outs
- Narrow 26.5-inch footprint fits tight bays
- Steel drawers with a key lock for the whole cabinet
- Full-extension ball-bearing slides for easy access
- Rolling base so it can move for cleaning or re-layout
- 500 lb maximum capacity for a cabinet this size
- Only four drawers, so large collections outgrow it
- No bench top for assembly work
- No built-in power centre or charging station
- Per-drawer slide load figure not headlined here, as it needs re-confirmation
CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 4-Drawer Rolling Tool Cabinet: what owners report
- A third-party review of this exact model notes its steel construction, 32.5 x 26.5 x 18-inch size, full-extension ball-bearing slides and internal keyed locking system. Toolstash review
- The same review presents it as a compact cabinet rather than a full bench replacement, matching its size and drawer count. Toolstash review
- Treat that review as third-party reporting, not maker specification, and check dimensions against your bay before ordering. Toolstash review
CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 4-Drawer Rolling Tool Cabinet: who should not buy
If you already own more than four drawers’ worth of tools, do not buy this as your only storage; the Craftsman 5-Drawer Combo below adds a stacked chest in the same width. If you need a bench surface, choose one of the full-size workbenches above instead.
CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 4-Drawer Rolling Tool Cabinet: pair it with
A compact cabinet pairs well with a small recovery kit kept together in one drawer. Shackles are dense, small and easy to lose in a big bench; see our shackles guide and the verified set below.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: lock the cabinet whenever it is rolled across the garage, and load the bottom drawer first so it stays stable. For moving and positioning heavy garage kit, see our mounting guide.
Best Two-Piece Combo: CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo
Best Two-Piece Combo — chest plus rolling cabinet in one footprint
Why the CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo is our pick
The Craftsman combo is the pick for buyers who want separation without a second footprint. The chest sits on the rolling cabinet, everyday tools live up top, and bulk storage sits under a lift-up panel. At 26.5 inches wide it keeps the compact footprint while adding a drawer and a bulk bay.
CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo key specs
- Model: CMST22653BK; UPC 721615312837
- Drawers: 5, ball-bearing
- Assembled size: 26.5 in. W x 44.25 in. H x 18 in. D (retailer figure)
- Construction: 20-24 gauge steel, powder-coated finish
- Handle: aluminium handle
- Form factor: chest plus rolling cabinet combo
- Bulk storage: space covered by a lift-up panel
- Included components: drawers, casters, tool chest, rolling cabinet, top mat, set of keys
- Weight capacity: 400 lb as stated on the combo listing only, not maker-confirmed
- Amazon ASIN: B07BTBZJYT
CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo: fits and best for
This combo fits the same narrow bay as the 4-drawer cabinet but stands taller at 44.25 inches, so check overhead clearance and top-drawer reach. It suits a kit that has outgrown a single cabinet but still cannot spare a 52-inch wall, and is less suited where a tall unit would block a window or door swing.
CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo pros and watch-outs
- Chest plus cabinet in a single 26.5-inch footprint
- Lift-up panel gives covered bulk storage
- Ball-bearing drawers with a top mat included
- Same narrow width as the compact cabinet
- Keys included for locking the unit
- 44.25-inch height needs overhead clearance checks
- 400 lb figure is listing-stated only, not maker-confirmed
- Taller stacked unit is heavier to move when loaded
- No bench top or built-in power centre
CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo: what owners report
- A third-party model page describes the chest-plus-cabinet form and the bulk storage under its lift-up panel. Toolstash model page
- That page is a model description, not a long-term owner report, so it supports the form factor but not durability claims. Toolstash model page
- General Craftsman chest coverage elsewhere concerns a different series and was not used as evidence for this combo. Bob Vila roundup
CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo: who should not buy
If you need a bench surface or a verified high total capacity, this combo is not the right shape; the Husky Workbench above covers both. If five drawers still feel tight, move up to the seven-drawer rolling cart below rather than overfilling the bulk bay.
CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo: pair it with
Use the bulk bay for a winch cover or a coiled strap that would otherwise sit on a shelf. A cover keeps dust off gear stored in the garage; see our winch cover guide and the verified cover below.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: keep everyday tools in the top chest and bulky, rarely used kit in the bulk bay, so the drawers you open daily stay shallow and fast. For garage power planning, see our winch battery guide.
Best Rolling Cart: GEARWRENCH GSX 35 in. 7-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart
Best Rolling Cart — seven drawers that travel to the job
Why the GEARWRENCH GSX 35 in. 7-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart is our pick
The GEARWRENCH cart is the pick for anyone who works in more than one bay, on a driveway, or around a vehicle that cannot come to the bench. Seven drawers in a 35-inch cart give real sorting without a full wall, the lift top opens extra access, and the charging station keeps batteries charging where the tools live. Drawers are rated to 100 lb each, with trigger-lock release.
GEARWRENCH GSX 35 in. 7-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart key specs
- Model: 83246; UPC 099575832468; maker Apex Tool Group
- Drawers: 7, with a lift top
- Overall size: 35 in. W x 20 in. D x 39 in. H
- Weight: 213 lb
- Total storage capacity: 16,244.6 cu. in. (maker brochure)
- Drawer construction: 22-gauge steel on ball-bearing slides, rated to 100 lb
- Drawer release: trigger-lock drawer release
- Casters: heavy-duty industrial polyurethane, 2 fixed and 2 swivel, each rated to 450 lb
- Charging station: 4 outlets and 2 USB ports with an on/off switch
- Finish: textured coated finish; foam mat liners noted in third-party review
- Amazon ASIN: B08S7KBWJX
GEARWRENCH GSX 35 in. 7-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart: fits and best for
This cart fits a 35-inch wall run or an open bay where it can roll, and suits a mechanic who services vehicles in different spots. The lift top gives quick top-bay access, and the charging station suits battery-tool users. It is not a bench replacement: it gives mobility and seven drawers, not a 52-inch work surface.
GEARWRENCH GSX 35 in. 7-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart pros and watch-outs
- Rolls to the job on heavy-duty 450 lb rated casters
- Seven drawers with trigger-lock release
- Lift top plus a built-in charging station
- 16,244.6 cu. in. of storage in a 35-inch cart
- Foam mat liners noted in the third-party review
- Not a full workbench surface
- 213 lb before tools, so moves need a clear path
- Charging station needs a nearby outlet to be useful
- Seven drawers may still be tight for a very large collection
GEARWRENCH GSX 35 in. 7-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart: what owners report
- A third-party GSX review notes the trigger-lock drawers and foam mat liners on this cart section. Pro Tool Reviews GSX review
- The same review notes over 16,200 cu. in. of storage for this cart, consistent with the brochure figure above. Pro Tool Reviews GSX review
- That review is third-party reporting on the GSX family, not maker specification; confirm the footprint against your bay. Pro Tool Reviews GSX review
GEARWRENCH GSX 35 in. 7-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart: who should not buy
If you need a fixed bench for assembly and clamping, do not buy a cart as a substitute; the Husky Workbench above is the right form. If you need eleven drawers, the Milwaukee Workbench above covers that count.
GEARWRENCH GSX 35 in. 7-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart: pair it with
A rolling cart pairs well with a recovery kit that travels with it to the vehicle. A hub or mounting accessory kept in the cart saves a trip back to the wall bench; see our mounting plate guide and the verified hub below.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: use the charging station switch to cut power when the cart is parked, and lock the trigger-lock drawers before rolling over a threshold. For rolling-kit habits, see our recovery kit guide.
Spec comparison
The comparison is split into two tables so every table stays narrow and readable. Figures marked as not published or listing-stated are not upgraded to maker-confirmed ratings elsewhere in this guide.
| Spec | Husky 9-Drawer | Milwaukee 11-Drawer | Craftsman 4-Drawer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Drawers | 9 | 11 | 4 |
| Width | About 55.25 in. | 52 in. | 26.5 in. |
| Depth | 24.5 in. | Not published | 18 in. |
| Height | 37 in. | Not published | 32.5 in. |
| Total capacity | 1,200 lb | 1,800 lb | 500 lb max |
| Drawer slide rating | 100 lb | 100 / 200 lb | Full-extension ball-bearing |
| Work top | 1 in. solid wood | Clamp-ready wood | None |
| Lock | Not stated | Lockable drawers | Key lock |
| Power | 6 outlets, 2 USB | Power strip, USB | None |
| Casters | 2 braked swivel, 2 rigid | Swivel with brakes | Caster set included |
| Warranty / finish | 3-year limited | Not stated | Powder-coated |
| Model | Not stated | 48-22-8553 | CMST22741BK |
| Check Price |
| Spec | Craftsman 5-Drawer Combo | GEARWRENCH GSX Cart |
|---|---|---|
| Drawers | 5 | 7 |
| Width | 26.5 in. | 35 in. |
| Depth | 18 in. | 20 in. |
| Height | 44.25 in. | 39 in. |
| Total capacity | 400 lb, listing-stated | Drawers 100 lb each |
| Drawer slide rating | Ball-bearing | 100 lb ball-bearing |
| Work top | Top mat included | Lift top |
| Lock | Keys included | Trigger-lock release |
| Power | None | 4 outlets, 2 USB |
| Casters | Casters included | 2 fixed, 2 swivel, 450 lb each |
| Warranty / finish | Powder-coated | Textured coated |
| Model | CMST22653BK | 83246 |
| Check Price |
Installation and setup basics
Most of the work is measuring, not assembling. Clear the wall run, confirm the doorway route, and decide the final position before loading, because a loaded 52-inch bench or 213 lb cart is far harder to reposition than an empty one. Set the unit level, lock braked casters, and load heavy drawers first and low. If it has a power centre, route its lead clear of drawers and walkways. Label drawers after a week of real use, and keep keys in a fixed spot, not inside the locked cabinet. For the wider garage setup around the chest, see our guides on installing a winch on a truck, wiring a winch and using a winch safely.
Safety essentials
- Lock braked casters before loading, unloading or leaning on any chest.
- Load heavy tools low and keep each drawer within its slide rating.
- Lock drawers before rolling a chest or cart across a threshold or slope.
- Never climb, stand or sit on an open drawer or a lift top.
- Keep the area in front of the chest clear so a drawer can open fully without striking a vehicle.
- Unplug a power centre or charging station before moving the unit or routing its lead.
Three garage accessories from the verified accessory pool are worth a drawer of their own. A snatch block, a tree saver strap and a set of shackles are heavy, compact recovery items that are easy to lose on a shelf; storing them in a labelled drawer keeps the recovery kit together. See our snatch block guide, tree saver guide and shackles guide.
Troubleshooting
| Symptom | Likely cause | Fix |
|---|---|---|
| Chest will not sit level | Uneven floor or an unlocked caster | Reposition on flat floor, lock braked casters, shim only as the maker allows |
| Drawer sticks or binds | Overloaded drawer or debris in the slide | Remove weight to the slide rating, clear debris, re-seat the drawer |
| Chest rolls when pushed | Brakes not engaged | Engage every braked caster before leaning or working on the unit |
| Drawer will not stay closed | Overfilled drawer or a damaged latch | Reduce contents, check the latch and lock, do not force the slide |
| Power centre has no power | Lead unplugged or switch off | Check the outlet, the lead route and the on/off switch, then re-plug |
| Unit will not fit the wall | Handle or open-drawer depth missed | Re-measure with handle and open drawers, then choose the narrower pick |
Who should NOT buy these tool chests
Buyers with under 26.5 inches of wall width should not buy any pick in this guide. The narrowest unit here is 26.5 inches wide, so a smaller bay needs a different cart class altogether; browse the tool chests archive for the wider family before settling.
Buyers who need a workbench surface should not buy a rolling cabinet or a combo as a bench substitute. Only the Husky and Milwaukee picks in this guide give a real wood work top; the cabinet and combo give storage, and the cart gives mobility, and none of those replaces a bench for clamping and assembly.
Buyers who need a verified high total capacity should not lean on the Craftsman combo figure. Its 400 lb figure is listing-stated only, not maker-confirmed, so a buyer who needs a confirmed high rating should choose the Husky at 1,200 lb or the Milwaukee at 1,800 lb instead.
Buyers who cannot confirm the Milwaukee dimensions should not order it blind. Its depth and height were not confirmed for model 48-22-8553 in this research, so if your bay is tight on depth, the fully dimensioned Husky or GEARWRENCH picks are the safer choice.
Buyers with a very large collection should not expect four or five drawers to be enough. Start from the drawer layout, not the brand: the eleven-drawer Milwaukee or the nine-drawer Husky suits a full collection, while the smaller Craftsman picks suit a starter or second-bay kit.
Final verdict
Best Overall — Husky 52 in. 9-Drawer Mobile Workbench: Check Price
Best Heavy Capacity — Milwaukee 52 in. 11-Drawer Mobile Workbench: Check Price
Best Compact Cabinet — CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 4-Drawer Rolling Tool Cabinet: Check Price
Best Two-Piece Combo — CRAFTSMAN 1000 Series 5-Drawer Tool Chest Combo: Check Price
Best Rolling Cart — GEARWRENCH GSX 35 in. 7-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart: Check Price
If only one line matters: measure the wall first, then choose the largest drawer layout that fits it without blocking a door.
FAQ
What is the best tool chest on Amazon for a home garage?
For most home garages with a full wall, the Husky 52 in. 9-Drawer Mobile Workbench is the best overall choice here, combining a solid wood bench top, nine drawers, a power centre and a total capacity rated to 1,200 lb. If your wall is narrow, the Craftsman 4-drawer cabinet or 5-drawer combo fits a 26.5-inch run.
How wide a wall do I need for a 52-inch tool chest?
Allow more than the headline width. The Husky measures about 55.25 inches wide, so plan on at least 56 inches of clear wall plus room for the handle and open drawers. The Milwaukee is 52 inches wide, but its depth and height were not confirmed for its exact model, so leave extra clearance until you can measure the delivered unit.
How many drawers do I actually need?
Count your tools by size class before you count drawers. Sockets and wrenches suit shallow drawers, power tools need deep drawers, and bulky kits need a bulk bay or a deep bottom drawer. Five well-planned drawers beat eleven drawers that are all overfilled, so match the layout to what you own rather than chasing the highest number.
Is the Milwaukee 52-inch chest deeper than the Husky?
That cannot be answered from this research, because the depth and height of Milwaukee model 48-22-8553 were not confirmed from a maker source. The Husky depth is 24.5 inches for its verified variant. Do not borrow the sister Milwaukee model’s dimensions, and measure the Milwaukee unit itself if depth is the deciding factor.
What does the Craftsman combo 400 lb figure mean?
The 400 lb figure for the Craftsman 5-drawer combo is the figure stated on that combo listing, and it is quoted here only on that basis. It is not presented as a maker-confirmed rating, and it is lower than the 500 lb maximum stated for the separate 4-drawer cabinet. Buyers who need a confirmed high rating should prefer the Husky or Milwaukee picks.
Should I buy a workbench, a cabinet, a combo or a cart?
Choose by where you work. A workbench suits a fixed workstation with assembly jobs, a cabinet suits a tight bay, a combo suits separated everyday and bulk storage in one footprint, and a cart suits work that moves between bays or onto a driveway. The form factor matters more than the brand, because the wrong form frustrates daily even when the build quality is good.
Do these tool chests come with drawer liners or power?
It depends on the pick. The Husky includes drawer liners and a 6-outlet plus 2-USB power centre, the Milwaukee has a built-in power strip with USB charging, and the GEARWRENCH cart has a charging station with four outlets and two USB ports. The Craftsman cabinet and combo do not list a built-in power centre, so plan a separate outlet for chargers with those picks.
Can I roll a loaded tool chest across the garage?
Yes, but only with care. Lock drawers before moving, engage braked casters when parked, keep heavy tools low, and clear the path of thresholds and leads first. A loaded full-size bench or a 213 lb cart is heavy and awkward, so reposition it empty where possible and load it in its final spot.
What size tool chest fits a small garage?
A 26.5-inch-wide Craftsman cabinet or combo fits most small bays, and the 35-inch GEARWRENCH cart fits a slightly wider run while rolling out of the way. Measure wall, open-drawer depth and door swing together, because a chest that fits the wall but blocks a door still fails daily.
Where can I find more tool chest options?
Start with the tool chests archive and the wider garage and workshop equipment archive on this site. For winch and recovery gear that often lives in the same garage, see our recovery kit guide and essential accessories guide.
Sources & changelog
Maker, retailer and manual sources: Husky listing and specification table — Amazon listing, specification table; Milwaukee listing and manual summary — Amazon listing, manual summary; Craftsman listings and retailer page — Amazon listing, 4-drawer, Amazon listing, combo, retailer listing, combo; GEARWRENCH brochure and ASIN record — GSX brochure, ASIN record.
Owner and third-party sources: Pro Tool Reviews GSX review; Toolstash, Craftsman 4-drawer; Toolstash, Craftsman combo; GarageTooled roundup; Bob Vila roundup, different Craftsman series context only. The Home Depot Canada family listing was used only to identify the 16,361 cu. in. figure as belonging to a different-depth variant, and that figure is not attached to the Husky pick in this guide.
Changelog — October 29, 2026: guide first published.
By Leo, Founder, WinchInsider
Leo covers garage and workshop equipment with a focus on verified specifications and honest capacity figures, so readers can match a chest to their wall before they order. Learn more on the about page.
Related guides
- Best Winch Recovery Kit
- Essential Winching Accessories
- Best ATV Winch
- Best Jeep Winch
- Best Truck Winches
- Best Portable Winch
- What Size Winch Do I Need
- Best Winch for Toyota Tacoma