One tier down, this purchase is a compromise you can smell: two-stroke premix, no inverter, no carbon monoxide shutoff, and a headline watt number the machine can hold for seconds. Readers who researched that shelf first arrive here asking the only question that matters — how much of that compromise does a bigger budget actually buy back?
More than the listings admit, and less than the badges promise. The inverter does arrive at this ceiling, and so does the CO sensor — but the watt games get subtler, not simpler. A 2,500-watt name can hide 1,900 running watts; a noise figure in the sales copy can halve the figure in the same maker’s own manual.
So this guide works the way the tier below could not: every pick was checked against its maker’s own manual or product documentation, running watts headline everything, and each pick’s evidence file is printed next to it. Six machines made the slate — five inverters and one big conventional — three with verified Amazon buttons, three as written alternatives, disclosed wherever they appear.
The 30-second answer
For most buyers, the PowerSmart HB5020C is the pick: 1,900 running watts — the most of any light inverter here — a CO shutoff documented in its manual, and a price record that has never crossed this ceiling in nearly two years of tracking. For an RV hookup in inverter form, the A-iPower SUA2301i adds a 30-amp outlet with the RV adaptor in the box, electric start and a three-year warranty. For the lightest carry, the Pulsar PGD16iSCO runs 1,200 watts at a manual-stated 27.5 lb. Three picks carry verified buttons; the A-iPower GXS1700i, the Sportsman GEN1000i and the big Sportsman GEN4000 are written alternatives, each with the buttoned top pick under it.
How we researched this guide
We censused about 20 generator models for this guide; six maker documents were read — three full manuals, two maker product pages and one maker’s manual-plus-spec record — three listing identities were verified against maker documents for buttons, and every price was checked through dated non-Amazon records: price-history archives, retailer captures and maker storefronts. Fourteen further models were documented and excluded, most on dated price evidence above this ceiling or because no current price could be captured at all.
Quick picks
Best Overall
PowerSmart HB5020C
An inverter with 1,900 running watts, a manual-documented CO shutoff and a two-year warranty — and a tracked price history whose highest figure ever recorded still sits inside this ceiling.
Best RV-Ready Inverter
A-iPower SUA2301i
The traveller’s inverter: 1,800 running watts, a 30-amp twist-lock with the RV adaptor included, electric start, and the slate’s longest warranty at three years.
Best Lightweight
Pulsar PGD16iSCO
1,200 running watts at a manual-stated 27.5 lb, a CO Sentry sensor, and the only noise figure published here with load and distance attached.
Best Parallel Pick
A-iPower GXS1700i
1,300 running watts at 28.9 lb with parallel ports, a CO sensor and maker-stated runtimes at two loads. No Amazon button for this pick — the verified button beneath it is the top pick’s.
Best First Inverter
Sportsman GEN1000i
The lightest machine here at about 20 lb and the simplest route into inverter power: 800 running watts, one AC outlet, a documented CO sensor. No Amazon button for this pick — the verified button beneath it is the top pick’s.
Best for RV Air Conditioning
Sportsman GEN4000
The big conventional: 3,500 running watts and a true RV outlet — the only pick in air-conditioner territory. No inverter, no CO shutoff published. No Amazon button for this pick — the button beneath it is the top pick’s.
Size your generator
Enter your own numbers — the matching picks appear below
Add up the running watts of everything you want to power at once, then add the biggest single motor’s starting surge on top. Every figure the calculator uses is a maker’s stated figure from this guide’s research — sizing guidance, not a promise about your appliances.
What else matters?
Enter the running watts you need above, or tick any priority, and the matching picks appear here.
Quick compare
| Product | Running watts | Type | CO shutoff | Check Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PowerSmart HB5020C | 1,900W | Inverter | Yes — CO Protect, in the manual | |
| A-iPower SUA2301i | 1,800W | Inverter | Yes — sensor in the manual | |
| Pulsar PGD16iSCO | 1,200W | Inverter | Yes — CO Sentry, in the manual | |
| A-iPower GXS1700i | 1,300W | Inverter | Yes — maker documents the sensor | No verified Amazon listing for this pick — written alternative: PowerSmart HB5020C: |
| Sportsman GEN1000i | 800W | Inverter | Yes — maker's store copy for the line | No verified Amazon listing for this pick — written alternative: PowerSmart HB5020C: |
| Sportsman GEN4000 | 3,500W | Conventional | None published | No verified Amazon listing for this pick — written alternative: PowerSmart HB5020C: |
Detailed reviews
Each review follows the same order: why it earned its place, verified specifications, the honest output picture, strengths and watch-outs, the published record, who should skip it and pairings. Where a maker's documents conflict, the conflict prints in the review.
Best Overall: PowerSmart HB5020C
Best Overall
Why the PowerSmart HB5020C is our pick
It is the strongest light inverter this ceiling buys on verified paper. Its manual states 1,900 running watts — the most of any enclosed inverter in the slate — behind a CO Protect shutoff the manual itself documents, a parallel port, and a two-year warranty printed in the same book. Its price file is the other half of the case: across nearly two years of tracked history, the highest figure ever recorded for this exact listing still sits inside this ceiling.
PowerSmart HB5020C key specs
- Model: HB5020C (the C is the CO-sensor variant — see the watch-outs)
- Output: 1,900W running, 2,500W starting (maker manual technical data)
- Engine: 80cc OHV 4-stroke (manual data table; some maker copy prints 79cc)
- Fuel: gasoline
- Tank: 1.06 gal
- Runtime: 5.5 hours at 50% load (maker manual)
- Outlets: 2× 120V AC, 1× 12V DC, 2× USB
- CO shutoff: yes — CO Protect, documented in the manual
- Noise: 69 dB at 23 feet in the manual's technical data — see the conflict below
- Weight: 39.7 lb (maker manual)
- Parallel capable: yes (kit sold separately)
- Warranty: 2-year (maker manual)
PowerSmart HB5020C: honest numbers and best for
Two numbers need handling in the open. First, watts: the name says 2500, the manual says 1,900 running — plan the camp on 1,900: a small fridge, lights, charging and one cooking appliance at a time. Second, noise: the manual's data table prints 69 dB at 23 feet, while the maker's sales copy claims the low-to-mid 50s. Both cannot be the measurement, and the manual governs — a normally audible inverter, not a whisper machine.
PowerSmart HB5020C pros and watch-outs
- Most running watts of the light inverters here — 1,900W
- CO shutoff documented in the maker's own manual
- Cleanest price record in the slate: never above this ceiling in tracked history
- The manual's noise figure contradicts the quiet sales copy — believe the manual
- The non-CO sibling variant (HB5020) sells beside it — check the model code before buying
PowerSmart HB5020C: what the published record shows
The record here is a documents record: an ASIN-keyed maker manual, a catalogue entry naming the manufacturer behind the brand, and a long price-history archive agreeing with the manual on model and output. Owner coverage centred on the listing record rather than long-form reviews.
PowerSmart HB5020C: who should not buy
Skip it if a true RV outlet matters more than inverter manners — the GEN4000 below carries the socket itself. Skip it where campsite quiet hours are enforced: the documented noise figure is not a quiet one. And skip the cheaper sibling variant if the CO sensor is why you are buying — the sensor lives on the C model only.
PowerSmart HB5020C: pair it with
A heavy-gauge outdoor extension cord and a battery carbon monoxide alarm — a sensor is a backstop, never a licence.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
HB5020 and HB5020C look identical in thumbnail. The C carries CO Protect; the plain model does not. Read the model code on the box.
Best RV-Ready Inverter: A-iPower SUA2301i
Best RV-Ready Inverter
Why the A-iPower SUA2301i is our pick
It is the inverter built for the reader this category serves. The panel carries a 30-amp twist-lock outlet and the box includes the adaptor that turns it into an RV connection, plus the parallel cables, plus electric start beside the recoil cord, plus a data center showing voltage, power, fuel level and hours. The manual documents a CO sensor with auto shutdown in its safety section — not as a badge, as a procedure — and the warranty runs three years.
A-iPower SUA2301i key specs
- Model: SUA2301i (gasoline model)
- Output: 1,800W running, 2,300W starting (maker manual)
- Engine: 80cc OHV 4-cycle
- Fuel: gasoline
- Tank: 0.9 gal
- Runtime: 9 hours at 25% load (maker manual)
- Start: electric and recoil
- Outlets: 1× 30A twist-lock (L5-30R), 1× duplex 5-20R, 1× 12V DC, USB-A and USB-C
- RV connection: 30A RV adaptor included, for the twist-lock outlet
- CO shutoff: yes — sensor with auto shutdown, documented in the manual
- Noise: 52 dB, maker-stated (no load or distance stated in the spec table)
- Weight: 42.2 lb
- Warranty: 3-year limited (maker)
A-iPower SUA2301i: honest numbers and best for
The RV story needs one honest sentence: there is no RV-shaped socket on this panel. The hookup runs through the included adaptor on the 30-amp twist-lock — electrically the same 30 amps, mechanically one extra connection to keep dry and seated. Buyers who want the socket itself buy the GEN4000. What the SUA2301i gives back is everything the big conventional lacks: inverter-clean power, a CO sensor, electric start, and nine hours at 25% load — the load a parked RV draws at night.
A-iPower SUA2301i pros and watch-outs
- 30-amp outlet with the RV adaptor and parallel cables in the box
- Electric start plus recoil backup
- Three-year warranty — the slate's longest
- RV hookup is via adaptor — no dedicated RV socket on the panel
- The maker's 52 dB figure publishes no load or distance behind it
- Small 0.9-gallon tank under its long light-load runtime
- Its dual-fuel siblings sell above this ceiling — never price this model from them
A-iPower SUA2301i: what the published record shows
The identity file is the strong part: a manual keyed to this exact listing, a maker store carrying the model in-ceiling on research day, panel documentation matching the manual. The trap is familial — several 2,300-watt inverters wear near-identical names, the dual-fuel versions above this ceiling. Every figure here belongs to the gasoline SUA2301i alone.
A-iPower SUA2301i: who should not buy
Skip it for starting an RV air conditioner — 1,800 running watts is not that machine; the GEN4000 is. Skip it if dual fuel is the point: the propane-burning sibling is a different model, above this guide's ceiling.
A-iPower SUA2301i: pair it with
A weather cover for the panel and a battery CO alarm inside the RV. Remember the order: adaptor first, then cord, then loads.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Four different machines share this naming family: SUA2301i, SUA2301iD, GXS2300i, GXS2300iD. The D models burn propane too and sell higher; the pick here is the gasoline SUA2301i.
Best Lightweight: Pulsar PGD16iSCO
Best Lightweight
Why the Pulsar PGD16iSCO is our pick
It is the carry-everywhere inverter with the cleanest documents in the lightweight class. The manual's technical table publishes its noise figure with load and distance attached — the only maker in this slate that does — and its wiring diagram shows the CO module behind the CO Sentry name. Its price record is equally plain: never once above this ceiling on any tracked channel.
Pulsar PGD16iSCO key specs
- Model: PGD16iSCO (CO-sensor variant — the suffix is the sensor)
- Output: 1,200W rated, 1,600W peak (maker manual)
- Engine: 57cc single-cylinder 4-stroke OHV
- Fuel: gasoline
- Tank: 0.63 gal (manual technical table; listing copy rounds it to 0.6)
- Runtime: 6.5 hours at half load (maker)
- Outlets: 2× 120V (5-20R), 2× USB-A
- CO shutoff: yes — CO Sentry; the manual's schematic shows the CO module and alarm light
- Noise: 56 dB at 7 m at 1/4 load (maker manual technical table)
- Weight: 27.5 lb net (maker manual — listing data prints 24 lb; the manual governs)
- Parallel capable: yes
- Emissions: CARB compliant (maker)
Pulsar PGD16iSCO: honest numbers and best for
Two honest notes. The weight prints two ways across the maker's own channels — 27.5 lb in the manual's table, 24 lb in listing data — so plan on the manual's figure. And no warranty term is stated in the manual record we verified, so this guide prints none rather than borrow one. What is solid: 1,200 running watts covers lights, phones, a fan and a laptop with room to spare.
Pulsar PGD16iSCO pros and watch-outs
- Best-documented noise figure in the guide: level, distance and load all published
- CO sensor present in the manual's own wiring diagram
- CARB compliant — saleable in California, unlike two picks below
- Weight conflict between the manual (27.5 lb) and listing data (24 lb)
- No warranty term stated in the verified manual record
Pulsar PGD16iSCO: what the published record shows
The record is a tracker record: a long price history across Amazon and third-party sellers, inside this ceiling at every point, highest included. Manual and listing agree on output and outlets; where they disagree — weight — it is printed above.
Pulsar PGD16iSCO: who should not buy
Skip it if the plan is a fridge and a microwave in the same hour — that is the HB5020C's extra 700 running watts talking. Skip it if a printed warranty term matters to you and the retailer cannot show one for this exact model.
Pulsar PGD16iSCO: pair it with
A short heavy-gauge cord rather than a long thin one — at 1,200 watts, voltage drop is a real tax — and a battery CO alarm.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
The PGD16iSCO's last letters are the CO sensor. Near-identical codes without them are different variants.
Best Parallel Pick: A-iPower GXS1700i
Best Parallel Pick
Why the A-iPower GXS1700i is our pick
It is the grow-into-it inverter: 1,300 running watts and 28.9 lb today, parallel ports for the day a second unit doubles it. The maker publishes runtimes at two load levels — a small honesty most makers skip — documents the CO sensor in its product copy, and backs the machine for three years.
A-iPower GXS1700i key specs
- Model: GXS1700i
- Output: 1,300W running, 1,700W starting (maker product page)
- Engine: 60cc OHV 4-cycle
- Fuel: gasoline
- Runtime: 8 hours at 25% load, 6 hours at 50% load, low-idle mode (maker)
- CO shutoff: yes — sensor with auto shutdown (maker product copy)
- Parallel: ports fitted; the maker's retail listing describes the parallel kit as included
- Weight: 28.9 lb (maker; one retailer prints 29.5 lb — the maker governs)
- Waveform: under 3% THD (maker)
- Warranty: 3-year limited (maker)
- Availability: not sold in California (maker store)
A-iPower GXS1700i: honest numbers and best for
The honest gap here is documentation, not output: the maker's published text does not state a tank size, a noise figure or a full receptacle list in the record we verified, and this guide will not import those numbers from a sibling model. What the maker does publish is enough to place it — watts, two runtime conditions, weight, sensor, warranty — and its price was captured in tier at two channels on research day. Buy it where you can read the panel photograph first.
A-iPower GXS1700i pros and watch-outs
- Parallel-ready at under 29 lb — the lightest growth path in the slate
- Runtimes published at two load levels, not one flattering one
- Three-year warranty, matching the slate's best
- No verified Amazon listing — no button in this guide
- Maker does not publish tank size or a noise figure in the verified record
A-iPower GXS1700i: what the published record shows
Two fresh captures anchor the file: the maker's store carrying the model in stock inside this ceiling on research day, and a national retailer's listing captured hours earlier, each inside this ceiling.
A-iPower GXS1700i: who should not buy
Written alternative — no Amazon button for this pick. Skip it if you want the purchase inside one Amazon order; the buttoned HB5020C above carries more running watts in the same class. Skip it in California — the maker does not sell it there.
Written alternative: the button above is for the PowerSmart HB5020C, this guide's buttoned top pick — not for the GXS1700i. We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Parallel arithmetic: two of these give roughly double the running watts — but buy the second only when the load is real. A single bigger inverter beats a pair you never pair.
Best First Inverter: Sportsman GEN1000i
Best First Inverter
Why the Sportsman GEN1000i is our pick
It is where the inverter class starts: about 20 lb, 800 running watts, one AC outlet, nothing to configure. For the reader whose whole load is lights, charging and a fan — the reader the tier below served with a two-stroke and a mixing bottle — this is the same job done by a four-stroke inverter with a CO sensor documented in the maker's store copy for the line.
Sportsman GEN1000i key specs
- Model: GEN1000i
- Output: 800W running, 1,000W starting (maker manual and spec record)
- Engine: 40cc OHV 4-stroke
- Fuel: gasoline
- Tank: 0.55 gal (maker manual; secondary spec sheets print 0.6 — the manual governs)
- Runtime: 6.3 hours at 50% load (maker manual)
- Outlets: 1× 120V AC verified (DC/USB fitment varies by production record — check the box)
- CO shutoff: yes — documented in the maker's store copy for the GEN1000i line
- Noise: maker-stated under 56 dB at no load, 23 ft — owner meter reports far higher; see below
- Weight: about 20 lb (model spec record)
- Warranty: 1-year (maker)
Sportsman GEN1000i: honest numbers and best for
The noise beat, in full: the maker states under 56 dB at no load from 23 feet, and owner reviews at its main retailer include meter readings of 76 to 80 dB. Those cannot both describe your campsite, and the owner numbers were taken with instruments — treat this as an audible little engine, bought for weight and simplicity. The wattage needs no such caution: 800 running watts, enough for the light-and-charge job and nothing beyond it.
Sportsman GEN1000i pros and watch-outs
- Lightest machine in the guide at about 20 lb
- Four-stroke inverter — no premix, no two-stroke shelf compromises
- CO sensor documented in the maker's store copy
- Maker's noise claim and owner meter reports disagree by a wide margin
- One verified AC outlet — panel extras vary by production record
- No verified Amazon listing — written alternative in this guide
Sportsman GEN1000i: what the published record shows
Its main retailer's record holds recent dated captures of the same offer, days apart, each inside this ceiling, and its owner reviews are where the noise warning above comes from — the record that sells it also corrects its quietest claim. One trap: a factory-refurbished sibling (GENR1000I) sells cheaper at the maker's store; a different unit, its price not evidence for this one.
Sportsman GEN1000i: who should not buy
Written alternative — no Amazon button for this pick. Skip it if a fridge is anywhere in the plan — 800 running watts leaves its start surge nowhere to go. Skip it if campsite quiet is the purchase reason: the documented owner readings say otherwise.
Written alternative: the button above is for the PowerSmart HB5020C, this guide's buttoned top pick — not for the GEN1000i. We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
GEN1000i and GENR1000I differ by one letter and one condition: the R is factory-refurbished. If the price looks like a misprint, read the model code first.
Best for RV Air Conditioning: Sportsman GEN4000
Best for RV Air Conditioning
Why the Sportsman GEN4000 is our pick
Because one job in this category is not negotiable: an RV air conditioner needs running watts in the mid-thousands and a socket shaped like the RV's plug. This is the only pick with both — 3,500 running watts from a conventional 212cc engine, a true RV outlet beside four household outlets, a 10-hour half-load runtime. It is also the slate's honest counterweight: no inverter, no published CO shutoff, about 91 lb.
Sportsman GEN4000 key specs
- Model: GEN4000 (gasoline model)
- Output: 3,500W running, 4,000W peak (maker and retailer record)
- Type: conventional, AVR-regulated — not an inverter; no clean-power claim is made
- Engine: 212cc, 7.0 HP OHV 4-stroke
- Fuel: gasoline
- Tank: 3.6 gal
- Runtime: 10 hours at 50% load (maker)
- Outlets: 1× RV outlet (TT-30R), 2× duplex 5-20R (four 120V AC), 1× 12V DC
- CO shutoff: none published for this model
- Noise: maker and retailer copy states under 69 dB at no load
- Weight: about 91 lb
- Warranty: 1-year limited (maker)
- Emissions: EPA approved, non-CARB — not for sale in California
Sportsman GEN4000: honest numbers and best for
The air-conditioning case is arithmetic, not a borrowed claim: a typical RV roof unit draws running watts in the low-to-mid thousands with a start surge above that, and 3,500 running watts is the first figure here that enters that band with headroom. Every inverter above tops out at 1,900. The other side of the ledger: at about 91 lb it lives where it is unloaded, its output is conventional rather than inverter-clean, and with no CO shutoff published, placement discipline is the whole safety system.
Sportsman GEN4000 pros and watch-outs
- Only pick with a true RV outlet — no adaptor in the chain
- 3,500 running watts: air-conditioner territory, with headroom
- 10-hour runtime at half load from the slate's biggest tank
- No CO shutoff published — the only pick without one
- Conventional output, not inverter-clean — keep sensitive electronics off it
- Non-CARB: not for sale in California
Sportsman GEN4000: what the published record shows
The record at its main retailer is a working-machine record: a fresh dated capture inside this ceiling and a sibling ladder — dual-fuel also inside the tier, tri-fuel well above it. The slated pick is the gasoline GEN4000 at its own captured figure; sibling prices were checked and not used.
Sportsman GEN4000: who should not buy
Written alternative — no Amazon button for this pick. Skip it if a CO sensor is your safety plan — it publishes none; the inverters above are the sleeping-hours machines, run outside regardless. Skip it for electronics-first loads, and skip it in California.
Written alternative: the button above is for the PowerSmart HB5020C, this guide's buttoned top pick — not for the GEN4000. We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Three fuel systems wear this name: GEN4000, GEN4000DF, GEN4000TRI. The dual-fuel DF is also inside this ceiling; the tri-fuel TRI is not.
Spec comparison
| Model | Running W | CO shutoff | Runtime (stated load) | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PowerSmart HB5020C | 1,900 | Yes — CO Protect (manual) | 5.5 h at 50% load | 2-year |
| A-iPower SUA2301i | 1,800 | Yes — sensor (manual) | 9 h at 25% load | 3-year limited |
| Pulsar PGD16iSCO | 1,200 | Yes — CO Sentry (manual) | 6.5 h at half load | Not stated in the verified manual |
| A-iPower GXS1700i | 1,300 | Yes — sensor (maker copy) | 8 h at 25% / 6 h at 50% load | 3-year limited |
| Sportsman GEN1000i | 800 | Yes — maker's store copy | 6.3 h at 50% load | 1-year |
| Sportsman GEN4000 | 3,500 | None published | 10 h at 50% load | 1-year limited |
How to choose the right generator at this ceiling
Start from running watts, and only running watts. Every headline in this class leads with the starting figure because it is bigger. Your loads do not care: they draw their running watts every minute, and the machine either holds that sum or it does not. Add the running watts of everything on together, add the biggest motor's start surge once, and buy the pick whose running figure clears the total — the calculator above does this arithmetic with the makers' stated figures.
Decide the inverter question by what you plug in, not by fashion. Five of six picks here are inverters, and for electronics, quiet hours and light loads they are simply the right tool. The conventional GEN4000 earns its seat on one axis only: raw running watts and a true RV socket. If your load is an air conditioner, that trade is rational. If it is a laptop and a CPAP, it is not.
Treat the CO sensor as a filter, then keep filtering. At the tier below, no pick published one; here, five of six do, and the one that does not is the biggest machine in the guide. A sensor earns a pick its seat; it never earns the machine a place indoors, in a garage, or under a window. Placement is the safety system; the sensor is its alarm.
Read noise figures like contracts. A decibel number without a load and a distance is marketing. In this slate exactly one maker publishes all three (the Pulsar), one publishes a manual figure its own sales copy contradicts (the PowerSmart), and one maker's quiet claim is contradicted by its owners' meters (the GEN1000i). Compare the documented figures, discount the rest, and assume every machine here is audible at a campsite — because it is.
Check the variant before the price. This class sells families, not models: CO and non-CO PowerSmarts, gasoline and dual-fuel A-iPowers, three fuel versions of the GEN4000, new and refurbished GEN1000is. The model code is the product. A price captured for any sibling says nothing about the pick in front of you — which is why this guide priced every pick from its own code.
Know the class below, so you know what you are paying to escape. One tier down, the honest shelf is a shared two-stroke platform: 900 running watts, premix fuel, no inverter, no CO shutoff. Everything here exists to answer it — and if none of those answers matter to your load, the cheaper shelf is the honest buy.
Separate the battery class from the fuel class. A power station — we are covering the Best Power Station Under 1000 separately, in its own guide — stores energy; a generator makes it. For lights and phones, stored energy is simpler. For a fridge through a three-day outage or an RV through a hot night, making energy wins.
First-run and refuelling routine
Before the first start: add the engine oil the manual specifies — several picks ship with oil and a funnel in the box, and all ship dry enough to punish a skipped step. Fill with fresh gasoline, stabilised if the can will sit. Set the machine outside, on level ground, exhaust away from every opening, and let it run unloaded a few minutes first. Then connect in order: heaviest load first, the rest one at a time, watching the total against your running figure — not the badge's starting figure. On the SUA2301i the data center shows the draw; on the others, your arithmetic is the gauge.
Refuel like it matters, because it does: engine off, engine cool, no exceptions. The light picks carry tanks under a gallon; plan the refuel into the evening routine rather than discovering the empty tank by the silence at 3 a.m. Never refuel in a garage or under an awning. Then store it ready: stabilised fuel, oil at the mark, recoil cord — or start battery — checked before the season you need it.
Safety: the rules that outrank every feature
- Outside only, always: no generator in this guide — sensor or no sensor — runs in a home, garage, tent or RV. Exhaust goes downwind, away from windows, doors and vents.
- Distance is the primary control: keep the machine well clear of the structure it serves, and let it cool fully before refuelling.
- The sensor is a backstop: five picks here shut down on CO; treat every activation as an emergency — move the machine, air the space — never a nuisance to reset.
- Alarms where people sleep: battery CO alarms in the RV and the home are cheap, independent of any generator's sensor, and non-negotiable alongside any pick here.
- Never backfeed: a generator connects to a house only through a proper transfer switch fitted by an electrician. A cord to a wall outlet endangers line crews and the household.
- Weather discipline: keep the panel and connections dry; a running generator in standing water or driving rain is an electrical hazard.
Troubleshooting
| Symptom | Likely cause | Fix |
|---|---|---|
| Engine starts, then stops within minutes | CO sensor activation, low-oil shutdown, or stale fuel | Move the machine further from structures and retry once; if it repeats, check oil and fuel age first |
| Breaker trips when a motor load starts | Start surge above the machine's starting watts | Start the motor load first and alone, then add steady loads; if it still trips, the load belongs to a bigger pick |
| Won't start after storage | Unstabilised fuel left in the carburettor | Drain and refill with fresh fuel; follow the manual's storage procedure before calling it a defect |
| RV air conditioner will not start on an inverter pick | Physics: 1,800–1,900 running watts against an AC start surge | This is the GEN4000's seat in the slate; no setting on the inverters changes it |
Who should NOT buy a generator at this ceiling
The overnight-medical user whose site bans engines. If the load is a CPAP at a campground with generator hours, the answer is stored energy and a site with hookups, not a quieter engine — every machine here is audible, and campsite rules outrank product pages.
The whole-home backup seeker. Nothing at this ceiling runs a house. The biggest pick here is a one-or-two-circuit machine; whole-home standby is a different class, installation and budget.
The California buyer, for two of these picks. The GXS1700i is not sold in California per its maker, and the GEN4000 is non-CARB. The Pulsar is the slate's documented CARB-compliant option; check the exact model's status before ordering.
The buyer who needs the purchase inside one Amazon order. Three picks here are written alternatives bought through maker stores and farm retailers. If Amazon-only is a hard rule, the three buttoned picks are your guide — the HB5020C first.
FAQ
Is an inverter generator worth it at this budget?
Yes, for most buyers. Five of the six picks here are inverters with maker-stated running watts and runtimes; the sixth, the conventional GEN4000, is in the guide for one job — air-conditioner-class watts with a true RV outlet. Buy the inverter unless that job is yours.
Which of these can run an RV air conditioner?
On the makers' stated running watts, only the Sportsman GEN4000 enters the band: 3,500 running watts against the low-to-mid-thousands draw and higher start surge of a typical roof unit. The inverters top out at 1,900 — enough for the converter, lights, fridge and fans, not for the compressor. That is wattage arithmetic from published figures, not a borrowed claim.
Why do three picks have no Amazon button?
Because no verified Amazon listing could be confirmed for those three models — the A-iPower GXS1700i, the Sportsman GEN1000i and the Sportsman GEN4000 — and this guide never guesses a listing. They run as written alternatives, researched from maker documents and priced from maker stores and national retailers, and wherever they appear, the button shown is the verified top pick's, labelled as such.
What does a CO shutoff actually do?
A sensor in the machine watches the air around it; when carbon monoxide builds past its threshold, it shuts the engine down. Five of the six picks document one — in the manual for the PowerSmart, the SUA2301i and the Pulsar, in maker copy for the GXS1700i and the GEN1000i. The GEN4000 publishes none. A sensor never makes indoor running safe; it is the alarm on a machine that still belongs outside.
Why do the noise numbers in this guide disagree with the listings?
Because the makers' own documents disagree with their listings. The PowerSmart manual's data table prints 69 dB at 23 feet where its sales copy claims the low 50s; the Pulsar's manual and listing even disagree on the machine's weight. This guide prints the manual figure and names the conflict, every time — a quieter claim that no document supports is not a specification.
Can I pair two of the smaller inverters instead of buying the big one?
For household and camp loads, yes — that is the GXS1700i's seat, and the PowerSmart, the SUA2301i and the Pulsar are also parallel capable per their documents; the SUA2301i even includes the cables. Paralleling gives clean power and redundancy — but it does not create an RV outlet where none exists.
What is the difference between this ceiling and the one below it?
Everything structural. Below it, the honest shelf is a shared two-stroke platform at 900 running watts with no inverter and no CO shutoff. At this ceiling the inverter is the norm, the sensor is documented on five of six picks, running watts run from 800 to 3,500, and one pick carries a true RV outlet. The cheaper shelf still works for lights and charging; this ceiling is what moving past it buys.
Final verdict
Buy the PowerSmart HB5020C unless your load says otherwise: the most complete light inverter at this ceiling — 1,900 running watts, a CO shutoff in its own manual, a two-year warranty, a price record that has never crossed the ceiling in nearly two years. Buy the A-iPower SUA2301i if the RV hookup is the point: adaptor in the box, electric start, three-year warranty. Buy the Pulsar PGD16iSCO if the carry decides it. And respect the written alternatives: the GXS1700i for growing in parallel, the GEN1000i as the lightest honest start in the class, and the GEN4000 — no sensor, no inverter, no apology — as the only machine here that can start an RV air conditioner.
Top pick: PowerSmart HB5020C. We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Sources
- PowerSmart HB5020C — maker instruction manual (technical data, CO Protect, warranty); price-history archive record for the verified listing (647 days tracked).
- A-iPower SUA2301i — maker owner's manual (panel, CO sensor safety section, runtime, warranty); maker store product and deals pages.
- Pulsar PGD16iSCO — maker operator's manual (technical parameters, schematic with CO module); price-tracker record for the verified listing.
- A-iPower GXS1700i — maker product page (output, runtimes, CO sensor, warranty, California note); national farm retailer listing.
- Sportsman GEN1000i and GEN4000 — maker manuals and model spec records; national farm retailer listings for both, including the GEN1000i owner-review record.
- Exclusion records: price-tracker archives, generator-offer trackers and retailer captures for the WEN, Champion, Pulsar, DuroStar and POXURIO models in the research census.
- RV & Camper Accessories — the category hub for this guide.
- Haloview Backup Camera Reviews — 12V and RV power context.
By Leo, Founder, WinchInsider
Every pick in this guide was checked against its maker's own documents before it was priced, and priced from dated records rather than a single day's listing. When a manual and its marketing disagreed, the manual won and the disagreement was printed. That is the whole method.
Related guides
- RV & Camper Accessories — the full category: power, water, levelling and the rig.
- Haloview Backup Camera Reviews — the other half of RV electrical life.
Top pick: PowerSmart HB5020C — 1,900 running watts, CO shutoff documented in its manual.