How we researched this guide
We examined 7 products against 8 maker documents and spec sources, including the MORryde StepAbove Gen-2 manual and installation instructions, the Lippert Solid Step installation manual, the Stromberg Carlson 2021 steps and ladders catalog, and maker descriptions on the Camco and VEVOR listings. Every weight rating, rise, width and model number in this guide comes from those maker sources, not from a roundup claim.
We also reviewed 3 owner-report sources: The Camping Nerd entry-step roundup, a RedTail Lodge owner account of swapping to a Torklift step system, and owner material shown on the MORryde, Camco, VEVOR and Stromberg Carlson listings. Where owner coverage for an exact variant was thin, this guide says so instead of inventing a review.
The 30-second answer
For a doorway replacement, start with the MORryde STP-206 StepAbove 2nd Generation or the Lippert Solid Step 4.0 Premium Double 26-inch. For one small final gap, use the Camco Adjustable Height Aluminum Platform Step 43676. For roof and reach work only, use the VEVOR Telescoping Ladder 12.5 ft 13-step. For interior bunk access, use the Stromberg Carlson LA-460B 60-inch Bunk Ladder. For a grab point at the door, add the Stromberg Carlson AM-250 Lend-A-Hand Mini Assist Rail.
Top pick: doorway replacement
MORryde STP-206 StepAbove 2nd Generation
Best if your factory pull-out step bounces and you want a ground-supported system that stores inside the doorway. Maker-rated to 500 lb.
Best wide top tread
Lippert Solid Step 4.0 Premium Double 26-inch
Best if you need only two steps and want a wide, natural-feeling top tread with an 8-inch rise. Maker-rated to 500 lb.
Best portable platform
Camco Adjustable Height Aluminum Platform Step 43676
Best if you only need to close one small final gap, on ground that is not level. Maker-rated to 1,000 lb, with no handrail included.
Reach work only
VEVOR Telescoping Ladder 12.5 ft 13-step
Best only for roof, awning and gutter work. This is not an entry stair, and this guide never presents it as one. Maker-rated to 330 lb.
Best bunk ladder
Stromberg Carlson LA-460B 60-inch Bunk Ladder
Best for interior bunk access at or below 60 inches, trimmed if the bunk is shorter. Maker-rated to 250 lb, for interior use only.
Best companion rail
Stromberg Carlson AM-250 Lend-A-Hand Mini Assist Rail
Best as a grab point beside any entry step in this guide. It is a handrail only, not a step, and no weight rating is published for it.
| Product | Type | Maker rating | Best for | Check Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MORryde STP-206 | Doorway entry system | 500 lb | Replacing a bouncing factory step | Check Price |
| Lippert Solid Step 4.0 Double 26-inch | Doorway entry system | 500 lb | Two-step entry, wide top tread | Check Price |
| Camco 43676 | Portable platform step | 1,000 lb | One small final gap | Check Price |
| VEVOR MF-STL380 | Telescoping reach ladder | 330 lb | Roof and reach work only | Check Price |
| Stromberg Carlson LA-460B | Interior bunk ladder | 250 lb | Bunk access at or below 60 inches | Check Price |
| Stromberg Carlson AM-250 | Assist rail only | Not published | Grab point at the door | Check Price |
Also considered, not a pick: the Torklift GlowStep Revolution (models A8103 and A9004) was examined, but no ASIN was verified on a fetched Amazon listing, so it carries no button in this guide. If you want that scissor-step style, the verified alternative directly below is the MORryde STP-206 StepAbove, which is a ground-supported doorway system with its own button.
Entry-step finder: match the step to your doorway height
Enter your threshold height, in inches, from the ground to the doorway threshold. This finder covers entry steps only; bunk and reach ladders are separate picks below, and every result below carries that pick’s own button.
Enter a height to see a recommendation.
How to choose an alternative to best ladders for stairs
“Best ladders for stairs” is not one product type. The right alternative depends on the job: a doorway entry, one small gap, interior bunk access, or reach work. Start with the job, then check fit, then check the maker rating.
Doorway fit first, always
For any doorway-mounted system, measure threshold height, hinge-plate clearance, step height from threshold to ground, and door width from flange to flange before ordering. MORryde and Lippert both publish this sequence, and a wrong width or step count is the most common fit failure in owner reports.
Ground contact beats a hanging step
A step that reaches the ground does not bounce the way a hanging factory step does. MORryde StepAbove and Lippert Solid Step systems are stable because their feet reach the ground. If your current step stops short of the ground, that missing contact is usually the problem.
Step count and rise must match the doorway
Count the rises your doorway actually needs. A double step suits a low entry, while a taller fifth-wheel doorway needs more rises. The Lippert 4.0 double in this guide uses an 8-inch rise, so it fits a low-to-moderate threshold, not every doorway.
Maker rating is per model, not per brand
Never average ratings into one typical figure. In this guide, Camco rates its platform to 1,000 lb, MORryde and Lippert 4.0 rate their entry systems to 500 lb, VEVOR rates its telescoping ladder to 330 lb, and Stromberg Carlson rates its bunk ladder to 250 lb.
Handrail or no handrail
A platform step with no handrail, like the Camco 43676, is the wrong pick for anyone who needs a rail to climb safely. If balance or grip is a concern, pair a ground-supported step with the AM-250 assist rail at the door, and check the rail position before you commit.
Storage and where the step lives
Doorway systems fold into the doorway, a platform step folds flat for storage, a telescoping ladder collapses for a locker, and a bunk ladder stays inside. Choose the storage shape that fits your rig, because a step that is hard to stow is a step that gets left behind.
Fit measurements to take before you order
| Measurement | How to take it | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Threshold height | Ground to doorway threshold | Sets step count and rise |
| Hinge-plate clearance | Space at the hinge plate | Lippert sequence: 3/8 inch |
| Threshold to ground | Full drop at the door | Confirms the step reaches |
| Door width | Flange to flange | Confirms the system fits |
| Bunk height | Floor to bunk edge | Must be at or below 60 inches |
Alternatives by budget tier
| Tier | What you get | Example pick |
|---|---|---|
| Small-gap helper | One rise, portable, levels per leg | Camco 43676 |
| Doorway replacement | Ground-supported folding system | MORryde STP-206 |
| Wide-tread doorway | Two steps, wide top tread | Lippert Solid Step 4.0 Double |
| Single-job extras | Reach ladder, bunk ladder, rail | VEVOR, LA-460B, AM-250 |
Types of stair alternatives in this guide
| Type | Pros | Watch-outs | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Doorway entry system | Ground-supported, stable | Needs exact doorway fit | Replacing a factory step |
| Portable platform step | Portable, levels per leg | One rise only, no handrail | One small final gap |
| Telescoping reach ladder | Collapses, reaches high | Not an entry stair | Roof and awning work |
| Interior bunk ladder | Fixed, trimmable | 250 lb rating, interior only | Bunk access |
| Assist rail | Grab point at the door | Not a step on its own | Companion to a step |
Detailed reviews: the six verified picks
Each review below uses only maker-stated specs and linked owner material from the research notes. Unpublished specs are marked “Not published” rather than guessed.
Top pick: MORryde STP-206 StepAbove 2nd Generation
Top pick: doorway replacement
Why the MORryde STP-206 is our pick
The STP-206 is our top doorway pick because it solves the exact problem owner reports describe: a factory pull-out step that bounces because it never reaches the ground. This system stores and locks into the door entrance, then folds down with adjustable feet that contact the ground. The Camping Nerd describes StepAbove steps as stable without shaking the trailer, with pivoting and adjustable feet for uneven surfaces.
Its trade-off is clear and worth stating plainly. Because it folds into the doorway, it is not a leave-outside portable step, and dirt on the steps can come inside when they fold up, which The Camping Nerd also notes. If you want a step you carry to the door only when parked, the Camco platform below is the better shape.
MORryde STP-206 key specs
- Maker: MORryde International, Inc.
- Model: STP-206, StepAbove 2nd Generation
- Maker weight rating: 500 lb
- Type: Internally storable entry and exit step system
- Storage: Stores and locks into the door entrance
- Feet: Adjustable feet and legs, both legs must be firmly on the ground
- Foot pads: Must be correctly oriented, step level before use
- Step count: Not published for this exact variant
- Step-height range: Not published for this exact variant
- Optional accessories: StepAbove Handrail, Storage Box SP54-099, Motion Activated Step Lights STP54-032
- Fit method: MORryde fit chart, threshold, hinge-plate clearance, step height, door width
- ASIN: B0924TD5BX
MORryde STP-206: fits and best for
This system fits a travel trailer or fifth wheel owner replacing a bouncing factory pull-out step, provided the doorway measurements match MORryde’s fit chart. Stability on uneven ground is the reason to pick it over a hanging factory step. Measure first, because the sources checked for this exact variant do not publish a step count or step-height range, and guessing either one is how a fit fails.
MORryde STP-206 pros and watch-outs
- Ground-supported, so it does not bounce like a hanging step
- Maker-rated to 500 lb
- Adjustable feet for uneven ground
- Stores and locks inside the doorway
- Named handrail, storage and lighting accessories
- Not a portable leave-outside step
- Step count not published for this variant
- Step-height range not published for this variant
- Dirt can come inside when folded up
MORryde STP-206: what owners report
The Camping Nerd describes StepAbove steps as folding down with adjustable feet that contact the ground, stable without shaking the trailer, with pivoting feet for uneven surfaces, and notes dirt can come inside when folded up. See The Camping Nerd entry-step roundup.
The STP-206 listing also shows an owner review video, “REAL REVIEW + DEMO: Step Above RV Entry Steps”, via the MORryde STP-206 listing.
MORryde STP-206: who should not buy
Do not buy this if you want a portable step you leave outside, or if your doorway measurements do not match the MORryde fit chart. In the first case, the Camco 43676 platform step is the portable shape. In the second case, do not force a fit; re-measure and check the chart.
MORryde STP-206: pair it with
Pair it with the MORryde StepAbove Handrail named on the listing, and with the Stromberg Carlson AM-250 assist rail if you want a second grab point at the door.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: lower and stow the steps only from outside the RV, and never stow them with anyone inside, because that blocks an emergency exit. See our RV cover guide for parked-rig setup.
Best wide tread: Lippert Solid Step 4.0 Premium Double 26-inch
Best wide top tread
Why the Lippert Solid Step 4.0 is our pick
The Lippert Solid Step 4.0 Premium Double is our wide-tread pick for a low-to-moderate doorway that needs only two steps. Its 13-inch top tread is notably deeper than its 8.5-inch lower tread, which gives a more natural first step from the threshold. Its 8-inch rise also matches a low entry cleanly, rather than forcing a taller system into a short doorway.
Do not confuse this 4.0 double with the older Lippert Solid Step generation. The older double was maker-rated at 400 lb, while this 4.0 model is maker-rated at 500 lb. The ratings belong to different generations and must not be swapped. Also note that this ASIN’s title does not say Lift Assist, so do not assume gas struts; Lippert describes gas struts for Lift Assist versions only.
Lippert Solid Step 4.0 key specs
- Maker: Lippert Components
- Model: 2024056996, Solid Step 4.0 Premium Double
- Maker weight rating: 500 lb
- Step width: 26 inches
- Step rise: 8 inches
- Top tread depth: 13 inches
- Lower tread depth: 8.5 inches
- Frame: No-bounce steel and aluminum frame
- Treads: Anodized aluminum, anti-slip treads
- Legs: Adjustable, ratcheting legs with catch pawl
- Feet: Recessed feet behind the bottom step
- Warranty stated on listing: 1 year
- Lift Assist: Not stated for this ASIN
- ASIN: B0GNNZQ5GB
Lippert Solid Step 4.0: fits and best for
This double fits a towable RV with a low-to-moderate threshold height that needs only a two-step assembly. Keep the Lippert measurement sequence: threshold height, hinge-plate clearance of 3/8 inch, threshold-to-ground height, and door width from flange to flange. A doorway taller than a two-step, 8-inch-rise assembly can handle needs a different system, not a stretched version of this one.
Lippert Solid Step 4.0 pros and watch-outs
- Maker-rated to 500 lb, up from the older 400 lb generation
- Wide 13-inch top tread
- Natural 8-inch rise for a low entry
- Adjustable ratcheting legs for uneven ground
- Folds into the doorway with a locking mechanism
- Two steps only, not for a tall doorway
- Lift Assist not stated for this ASIN
- No dedicated owner review verified for this exact variant
- Extended threshold must clear wheel well covers and skirting
Lippert Solid Step 4.0: what owners report
Owner coverage for this exact 2024056996 double variant is thin: no single owner-report article dedicated to it was verified in the research, so this guide invents no owner quotes for it. General entry-step coverage is available in The Camping Nerd roundup, and family context is in the Camping World Solid Step 4.0 family listing, which describes a triple Lift Assist model, not this double.
Lippert Solid Step 4.0: who should not buy
Do not buy this if your doorway needs more than two steps, or if you specifically need Lift Assist gas struts, which are not stated for this ASIN. For a taller doorway, the MORryde STP-206 doorway system is the next check, subject to its own fit chart.
Lippert Solid Step 4.0: pair it with
Pair it with the Stromberg Carlson AM-250 assist rail for a grab point at the door, and check the extended threshold against wheel well covers before first use.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: lower the step with both hands firmly supporting it, and set the extendable legs for uneven ground before stepping on. See our hitch step guide for a different kind of vehicle step.
Best portable platform: Camco Adjustable Height Aluminum Platform Step 43676
Best portable platform
Why the Camco 43676 is our pick
The Camco 43676 is our portable pick because it does one job well: it closes a single small final gap. Its legs adjust from 7.5 to 9 inches, so each leg can be set independently on uneven ground, and its platform is 19 by 14.5 inches. Camco rates it to 1,000 lb, the highest maker rating in this guide, but that rating belongs to a one-rise platform, not to a full staircase.
Say its limit plainly. A freestanding platform step adds only one rise, so it does not replace a two-, three- or four-step entry system on a high fifth wheel. It also has no handrail. Anyone who needs a rail to climb safely should not rely on this step alone.
Camco 43676 key specs
- Maker: Camco
- Model: 43676, Adjustable Height Aluminum Platform Step
- Maker weight rating: 1,000 lb
- Platform size: 19 by 14.5 inches
- Height: Up to 9 inches of additional height
- Leg adjustment: 7.5 to 9 inches
- Material: Aluminum
- Product weight: Approximately 8 lb per maker description
- Storage height: 3 inches with legs folded in
- Feet and grip: Non-slip rubber feet and grip tape
- Handrail: Not included
- Warranty stated on listing: 1 year
- ASIN: B00G258I0G
Camco 43676: fits and best for
This platform fits a low entry, a truck camper step-up, a pet step, or a last riser under an existing step, and it fits uneven ground where each leg can be set independently. It is the wrong pick for a high fifth-wheel doorway or for anyone who needs a rail to climb safely.
Camco 43676 pros and watch-outs
- Maker-rated to 1,000 lb
- Legs adjust independently for uneven ground
- Light at approximately 8 lb per maker description
- Folds to 3 inches for storage
- Non-slip feet and grip tape
- One rise only, not a full staircase
- No handrail included
- Wrong for a high fifth-wheel doorway
- Stiff leg-release buttons reported in roundup coverage
Camco 43676: what owners report
The 43676 listing shows an owner review video, “Camco RV Step Stool Review”, via the Camco 43676 listing. Secondary roundup reporting in Vintage Vinyl News describes independently adjustable legs on sloped ground and notes stiff leg-release buttons as a recurring owner complaint. That roundup is secondary reporting, not a maker claim.
Camco 43676: who should not buy
Do not buy this as your only entry step for a tall doorway, or if you need a handrail. For a full doorway replacement, check the MORryde STP-206 against its fit chart, and add the AM-250 rail below for a grab point.
Camco 43676: pair it with
Pair it with the Stromberg Carlson AM-250 assist rail at the door when a grab point is needed, and keep it as the last riser under an existing step system, not as a standalone staircase.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: snap every leg firmly into place and check the platform is level before use. See our truck camper guide for low-entry camper setups.
Reach work only: VEVOR Telescoping Ladder 12.5 ft 13-step
Reach work only
Why the VEVOR MF-STL380 is our pick
The VEVOR MF-STL380 is in this guide for one job only: reach work. At 12.5 feet with 13 steps, it reaches an RV roof, awning and gutters, then collapses to 18.31 by 31.5 inches for storage. That compact storage is the reason a telescoping ladder earns a place in an RV kit, where a full extension ladder often does not fit.
Read the warning with the same weight as the pick. This ladder is not an entry stair, and it must never be used as a daily entry stair. It needs a stable, level base and fully engaged rung locks, and every rung lock must be confirmed before climbing. A ladder that is convenient for roof work is still a ladder, not a staircase.
VEVOR MF-STL380 key specs
- Maker: VEVOR
- Model: MF-STL380, Telescoping Ladder 12.5 ft 13-step
- Maximum height: 12.5 ft, 3.74 m stated on listing
- Number of steps: 13
- Maker load capacity: 330 lb
- Item weight: 24.1 lb
- Material: Alloy steel with steel and nylon connectors
- Retraction: Multi-button retraction design
- Feet: Non-slip feet
- Collapsed size: 18.31 by 31.5 inches
- Duty rating: Not published for this model
- Rung width: Not published for this model
- ASIN: B0F3JCDY4R
VEVOR MF-STL380: fits and best for
This ladder fits RV roof inspection and cleaning, awning and gutter work, and other jobs where a compact ladder that collapses for storage is needed. It fits a rig with locker space for a collapsed ladder, and a user who will check every rung lock and set the base on firm, level ground every time. It does not fit daily entry use, and no entry-step rating should be read into its 330 lb capacity.
VEVOR MF-STL380 pros and watch-outs
- Reaches 12.5 feet for roof work
- Collapses for compact storage
- Maker-rated to 330 lb
- Multi-button retraction design
- Non-slip feet
- Not an entry stair, ever
- Needs a firm, level base every time
- Every rung lock must be confirmed
- No duty rating published for this model
VEVOR MF-STL380: what owners report
Owner coverage for this exact MF-STL380 model is thin: the listing shows a customer-review video, “Vevor expandable 12 foot Ladder is very handy”, via the VEVOR MF-STL380 listing. No independent long-term owner test of this exact model was verified, so this guide makes no durability claim for it. No VEVOR manual PDF was verified either, so no manual is cited for this model.
VEVOR MF-STL380: who should not buy
Do not buy this if you need an entry stair, a bunk ladder, or a step you climb daily. For entry use, check the MORryde STP-206 doorway system instead. For bunk access, the LA-460B below is the interior pick.
VEVOR MF-STL380: pair it with
Pair it with the Camco 43676 platform step only as a separate ground-level helper, never as a ladder base extension, and keep roof work to firm, level ground.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: extend fully, confirm every rung lock, and keep the base on firm level ground before climbing. See our roof-top tent guide for roof-access planning.
Best bunk ladder: Stromberg Carlson LA-460B 60-inch Bunk Ladder
Best bunk ladder
Why the Stromberg Carlson LA-460B is our pick
The LA-460B is our interior pick because it is built for one place: inside the RV, at the bunk. At 60 inches with 5 steps and padded rubber treads, it gives bare-foot comfort on a fixed interior ladder, and it can be trimmed for shorter bunks. Its two attachment styles, a small hook with extrusion for a positive attachment, or a larger hook so no fascia board needs drilling, cover the two common bunk installations.
Its limit is its rating. At 250 lb, it is lower than every entry-step system in this guide, and it is not a ground-supported entry ladder and not rated for entry-stair use. That single fact rules out any entry use, no matter how convenient an interior ladder looks at the door.
Stromberg Carlson LA-460B key specs
- Maker: Stromberg Carlson Products Inc.
- Model: LA-460-B, 60-inch Black Bunk Ladder
- Maker weight capacity: 250 lb
- Length: 60 inches
- Number of steps: 5
- Treads: Padded rubber treads and covers
- Attachment: Small hook and extrusion, or larger hook
- Drilling: Larger hook needs no fascia board drilling
- Trimmable: Yes, for shorter bunks
- Colour: Black
- Use: Interior bunk access only
- Entry-stair rating: Not rated for entry-stair use
- ASIN: B00HET17RK
Stromberg Carlson LA-460B: fits and best for
This ladder fits interior RV bunk access where a fixed interior ladder is wanted and the bunk height is at or below 60 inches, trimmed if shorter. Check both attachment styles against the bunk before trimming, because trimming is not reversible. It does not fit entry use, heavier users plus gear above 250 lb, or any ground-supported doorway job.
Stromberg Carlson LA-460B pros and watch-outs
- Fixed interior ladder for bunk access
- Trimmable for shorter bunks
- Two attachment styles included
- Padded rubber treads for bare feet
- Larger hook avoids drilling a fascia board
- 250 lb rating, lowest in this guide
- Interior bunk use only, not entry use
- Not ground-supported
- Trimming cannot be undone, so check fit first
Stromberg Carlson LA-460B: what owners report
Owner material on this listing includes a single negative delivery and condition report, via the LA-460B listing. The practical note stands: inspect the ladder on arrival and confirm both attachment styles fit the bunk before trimming.
Stromberg Carlson LA-460B: who should not buy
Do not buy this for entry use, or if the user plus gear exceeds 250 lb. For entry use, check the MORryde STP-206 doorway system. For a portable ground step, the Camco 43676 is the separate pick.
Stromberg Carlson LA-460B: pair it with
Pair it with a bunk-side light and a check of the attachment before trimming, and keep it as an interior fixture, not a ladder carried outside for entry or roof work.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: confirm both attachment styles fit before you trim anything. See our camping setup guide for interior sleep planning.
Best companion rail: Stromberg Carlson AM-250 Lend-A-Hand Mini Assist Rail
Best companion rail
Why the Stromberg Carlson AM-250 is our pick
The AM-250 is our companion pick, and the word companion does the work. It is a folding assist rail and grab bar by the entry door, 22 inches long, extending 10 inches, weighing 1.75 lb. It gives a handhold where the factory handle is hard to reach from the ground, and it pairs with any entry step in this guide.
It is not a stair alternative on its own. It only helps if the step system below it is already correct, and no weight rating is published for this AM-250 model in the sources checked. This guide invents none, and it does not borrow the rating of another Lend-A-Hand model for this ASIN.
Stromberg Carlson AM-250 key specs
- Maker: Stromberg Carlson Products Inc.
- Model: AM-250, Lend-A-Hand Mini Assist Rail
- Size: 22 inches, extends 10 inches
- Dimensions: 23.5 by 11.25 by 2.5 inches
- Item weight: 1.75 lb
- Colour: White
- Type: Folding assist rail and grab bar
- Weight rating: Not published
- Step function: None, handhold only
- Position: By the entry door
- Manual: No separate AM-250 manual verified
- ASIN: B00B2ASNXI
Stromberg Carlson AM-250: fits and best for
This rail fits any entry step in this guide for a user who wants a grab point at the door, especially where the factory handle is hard to reach from the ground. It fits as a companion, fitted at the door, checked for reach from the ground before the step is used. It does not fit as a standalone solution for any stair problem.
Stromberg Carlson AM-250 pros and watch-outs
- Grab point at the door
- Folding rail, light at 1.75 lb
- Pairs with every entry step here
- Helps where the factory handle is out of reach
- Not a step, platform or ladder
- No weight rating published
- Useless if the step below it is wrong
- No separate manual verified for this model
Stromberg Carlson AM-250: what owners report
Owner material on this listing includes a review described as “Great upgrade from our old camper handles”, via the AM-250 listing. That is a handle-upgrade report, not a load or safety finding, and this guide treats it as such. No weight or durability claim is drawn from it.
Stromberg Carlson AM-250: who should not buy
Do not buy this instead of a step. If you have no correct step system yet, start with the MORryde STP-206 or the Camco 43676 for a small gap, then add this rail.
Stromberg Carlson AM-250: pair it with
Pair it with any doorway system in this guide, and check the rail’s reach from the ground before relying on it as your only handhold.
We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Tip: fit the rail first, then test the grab from the ground before first use. See our cover guide for protecting door hardware when parked.
Spec comparison
Ratings below are maker-stated and per model. No score is given, because no testing was done and no score formula was verified in the research.
| Spec | MORryde STP-206 | Lippert 4.0 Double | Camco 43676 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Doorway system | Doorway system | Platform step |
| Maker rating | 500 lb | 500 lb | 1,000 lb |
| Width / platform | Not published | 26 inches | 19 by 14.5 inches |
| Rise | Not published | 8 inches | 7.5 to 9 inches |
| Material | Not published | Steel and aluminum | Aluminum |
| Legs / feet | Adjustable feet | Ratcheting legs | Adjustable legs |
| Storage | Inside doorway | Inside doorway | Folds to 3 inches |
| Handrail | Optional accessory | Not stated | Not included |
| Warranty | Not published | 1 year | 1 year |
| Check Price | Check Price | Check Price | Check Price |
| Spec | VEVOR MF-STL380 | LA-460B bunk | AM-250 rail |
|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Reach ladder | Bunk ladder | Assist rail |
| Maker rating | 330 lb | 250 lb | Not published |
| Size | 12.5 ft, 13 steps | 60 inches, 5 steps | 22 inches |
| Weight | 24.1 lb | Not published | 1.75 lb |
| Material | Alloy steel | Not published | Not published |
| Storage | Collapses | Fixed interior | Folding rail |
| Entry use | No | No | No, handhold only |
| Check Price | Check Price | Check Price | Check Price |
Fitment and installation basics
Start with the measurement sequence in this guide, then follow the maker manual for the product you buy. For MORryde and Lippert doorway systems, that means threshold height, hinge-plate clearance, threshold-to-ground height and door width, checked before ordering, not after delivery. For the Lippert double, hinge-plate clearance is 3/8 inch, and the extended threshold must clear wheel well covers and skirting.
On installation day, set every adjustable foot on firm ground, confirm the step is level, and confirm latches and locks are engaged before anyone steps on. For a telescoping ladder, that check is every rung lock, every time. For a bunk ladder, that check is both attachment styles, before any trimming. Re-check after the first night on soft or uneven ground, because a step that was level at setup may not stay level.
For general setup context, see our recovery kit guide, our snatch block guide, and our tree saver strap guide for the wider camp and recovery kit that travels with an RV.
Safety essentials
1. Lower and stow doorway steps only from outside the RV, never with anyone inside, because stowed steps block an emergency exit.
2. Never use a step unless both legs are firmly on the ground, foot pads are correctly oriented, and the step is level.
3. Lower a Lippert step with both hands firmly supporting it, and adjust extendable legs for uneven ground.
4. Confirm a step is fully extended and locked before use, and securely retracted and latched before moving the RV.
5. Never exceed the stated maker weight capacity for the exact model you own.
6. For a telescoping ladder, confirm every rung lock, keep the base on firm level ground, and never use it as a daily entry stair.
Accessory picks for safer entry, each from this article with its own button: the AM-250 assist rail for a grab point, the Camco 43676 platform for a stable final riser, and the MORryde STP-206 as the ground-supported doorway system. Wear sturdy footwear on wet steps; see our work boots guide. For wider kit context, see our shackle guide.
Troubleshooting
| Symptom | Likely cause | Fix |
|---|---|---|
| Step bounces | Feet do not reach ground | Use a ground-supported system |
| Step will not fit doorway | Wrong width or step count | Re-measure, check fit chart |
| Step rocks on site | Uneven ground, legs unset | Set each leg, level the step |
| Ladder rungs will not lock | Lock not fully engaged | Do not climb, re-extend fully |
| Bunk ladder feels loose | Wrong attachment style | Try the other hook, check fit |
| Platform leg sticks | Stiff leg release | Work release gently, check snap |
Who should NOT buy these
Anyone needing a full staircase from one platform step. The Camco 43676 adds one rise only. If your doorway needs two or more rises, it is the wrong main step, however high its 1,000 lb rating looks on paper.
Anyone wanting an entry ladder for a bunk ladder price. The LA-460B is interior-only and rated to 250 lb. Using it at a doorway is outside its stated use, and no saving justifies that mismatch.
Anyone who needs a handrail but buys a rail-free step alone. A platform with no handrail, used alone, leaves the balance problem unsolved. Pair a correct step with the AM-250 rail, or choose a doorway system with a handrail option.
Anyone who will not measure first. Doorway systems fail on width and step count more than on quality. If the fit chart is skipped, even the best pick in this guide can be the wrong order. See the Ladders category archive for the wider ladder family before ordering.
Final verdict
Top pick: MORryde STP-206 StepAbove 2nd Generation Check Price
Best wide tread: Lippert Solid Step 4.0 Premium Double 26-inch Check Price
Best portable platform: Camco Adjustable Height Aluminum Platform Step 43676 Check Price
Reach work only: VEVOR Telescoping Ladder 12.5 ft 13-step Check Price
Best bunk ladder: Stromberg Carlson LA-460B 60-inch Bunk Ladder Check Price
Best companion rail: Stromberg Carlson AM-250 Lend-A-Hand Mini Assist Rail Check Price
Also considered, no button: Torklift GlowStep Revolution, no ASIN verified. Verified alternative: MORryde STP-206 Check Price
FAQ
What is the best alternative to best ladders for stairs for an RV doorway?
A ground-supported doorway system is the best doorway alternative, not a ladder. The MORryde STP-206 StepAbove and the Lippert Solid Step 4.0 Double both fold into the doorway and reach the ground, which removes the bounce of a hanging factory step. Measure threshold, hinge clearance, drop and door width against the maker fit chart first.
Can a telescoping ladder replace RV entry stairs?
No. A telescoping ladder is for roof, awning and gutter work only, and it must never be used as a daily entry stair. The VEVOR MF-STL380 in this guide is included only for reach work, with a firm level base and every rung lock confirmed before climbing.
Can a bunk ladder be used as an entry stair?
No. The Stromberg Carlson LA-460B is for interior bunk access only, it is rated to 250 lb, and it is not rated for entry-stair use. A bunk ladder at a doorway is outside its stated use, even if it looks tall enough.
What should I measure before ordering a doorway step?
Measure threshold height, hinge-plate clearance, step height from threshold to ground, and door width from flange to flange. For the Lippert double, hinge-plate clearance is 3/8 inch. A wrong width or step count is the most common fit failure in owner reports.
Is the Camco 43676 a full staircase?
No. The Camco 43676 is a one-rise portable platform step, adjustable from 7.5 to 9 inches, with no handrail included. It closes one small final gap well, but it does not replace a two-, three- or four-step entry system on a high fifth wheel.
Does the Lippert Solid Step 4.0 Double have Lift Assist?
Lift Assist is not stated for this ASIN. Lippert describes gas struts for Lift Assist versions only, and this double listing title does not say Lift Assist. Do not assume struts are included, and verify a Lift Assist variant separately if you need them.
What weight rating does the AM-250 assist rail have?
No weight rating is published for the AM-250 in the sources checked, and this guide invents none. It is a folding handhold by the door, not a step, and it only helps if the step system below it is already correct. Do not borrow another model’s rating for it.
Why is the Torklift GlowStep Revolution not a pick here?
It was examined, including models A8103 and A9004, but no ASIN was verified on a fetched Amazon listing, so it carries no affiliate button in this guide. The verified alternative named under it is the MORryde STP-206 doorway system, which has its own button.
How do I keep an RV step stable on uneven ground?
Set every adjustable foot on firm ground, confirm the step is level, and confirm latches and locks are engaged before use. Re-check after the first night on soft or uneven ground, because a step that was level at setup may shift. Ground contact is the dividing line between a stable step and a bouncing one.
Sources & changelog
Manufacturer and maker sources: MORryde StepAbove Gen-2 Owner’s Manual; MORryde StepAbove Gen-2 Installation Instructions; Camping World Lippert Solid Step 4.0 family listing; Stromberg Carlson 2021 RV Steps and Ladders Catalog; Torklift GlowStep Revolution blog; Tweetys Torklift A9004 dealer spec sheet; ThomasNet Torklift scissor-step summary.
Owner-report sources: The Camping Nerd entry-step roundup; RedTail Lodge EKKO step replacement account; Vintage Vinyl News RV steps roundup; plus owner material shown on the MORryde, Camco, VEVOR, LA-460B and AM-250 Amazon listings, linked in each product block.
Changelog — October 25, 2026: guide first published.
By Leo, Founder, WinchInsider
Leo covers RV and recovery gear with a focus on maker-stated specs and fit checks that prevent a wrong order.
Related guides
Cheap truck campers under 5000
Best truck bed cover for camping
Top pick: MORryde STP-206 Check Price